1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Ps2 can't play DVD+ is that right?

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by XxviperxX, Jan 27, 2005.

  1. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi i have a playstation 2 with SCPH-3904 is it right that this version can't play DVD+ with the swapmagic?
    i brought the Fliptop and can't play backups/downloaded games.
    So is the reason that i can't play Games that i need DVD-R?
     
  2. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  3. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i cant find my answer.
    do i need dvd- with SCPH-3904?
     
  4. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If you have a version 1-3 ps2, you must use dvd-r's. If you have a version 4 ps2, then you have a 50/50 chance of being able to use +r's, instead of -r's. If you have a version 5+, then you should be able to use either.
     
  5. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes but how do i know with version i have?
    My number of my playstation 2 is SCPH-3904
    and DVD+ don't work :S
     
  6. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  7. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think then we have a problem because my ps2 number isn't on the list :S
     
  8. biggoltee

    biggoltee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Check again I don't think any PS2 has a Serial# that has only four numbers.
     
  9. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well i've checked it and it is true.
    i have 4 numbers SCPH-3904

    So if any1 know witch version i have, Plz tell me

    Thank U
     
  10. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh sorry mate's
    I DO have SCPH-39004 :$ Sorry but this is the number.
     
  11. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Alright if i'm right, i have version 7
    (dont know realy sure)
    but to come back on my mean question:
    Can't my playstation 2 (V7) play DVD+ as backups?
    caus i have a swapmagic + fliptop and everytime i use DVD+R/RW it says 'Invalid PS2 Disc'
     
  12. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You should be able to use dvd+r media. Don't use ReWritables though.

    What method are you backing up your games?
     
  13. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    DVD decrypter

    1) insert orginal ps2 game then mode>iso>read
    if it finisht then
    2) mode>iso>write and write it to dvd
    but it stil says invalid ps2 disc.
    and wy cant u use RW?
     
  14. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    RW's usually don't work well with most ps2 consoles. I haven't heard of any luck with them anyway.

    Your method is correct, what media brand are you using to backup your games on. I know that 8x max discs tend to lead to some problems as well. Use 4x max and burn at 1x or 2x.
     
  15. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I use:
    Philips
    DVD+R
    120 min
    4.7 GB
    4x

    Is this dvd media good?
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2005
  16. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  17. danbooke

    danbooke Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think that the easiest soultion to this problem is not trying to find the answers here. If your burning DVD+R and it is not working then try DVD-R. That seems pretty simple to me. With so many problems with PS2's recognizing DVD+R, why would you try anything else anyway?
     
  18. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes but is the DVD+ i use a good one for ps2?

    i discribed it above here
     
  19. danbooke

    danbooke Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Use DVD-R not +
     
  20. XxviperxX

    XxviperxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Alright haha but my computer can't burn DVD-
     

Share This Page