1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

n00bie needs some TEMPGEnc help please :)

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Hapkuab, Jun 25, 2004.

1. Hapkuab

Hapkuab Member

Hi guys, im new to afterdawn, and I am finding it extremely useful, however ive run into a few problems thatI hope you guys can help me sort out.

I dont know if this first bit is related to my problem, but I think you guys should know the full gist of the problem :)

I recently got a new DVDRW burner (the scournfull NEC 1100A DVD+RW) that comes bundled with Dell machines. Now then Ive had all sorts of problems with the drive already - upgraded to the latest firmware and all that gubbins to make it actually work, I had thought to flash the drive to the NA 1300A firmwareas I have heard that this will increase performance and increase the DVD options the drive can read. I have not done this yet however as Dell are sending me a replacement DVD burner drive because they and I seem to be faulty, but I may have a go afterwards :p

Anyway back to my problem, I have followed the excellent guide to convert .avi files to DVDR format so I can watch all my old .avi backup movies on DVD, but I have come across a few problems.

1) following the avi to dvdr guide exactly to step 4 (creating the MPEG2 file) specifically the bitrate is where I am having the problems.

Using AVIcodec gives the following -
    File : 695 MB (695 MB), duration: 2:07:16, type: AVI, 1 audio stream(s), quality: 45 %

Video : 596 MB, 655 Kbps, 25.0 fps, 7105636*272 (viDxvidvfw.dll), XVID = XVID Mpeg-4, Not checked

Audio : 98 MB, 108 Kbps, 44100 Hz, 2 channels, 0x55 = MPEG Layer-3, Supported

Im TEMPGEnc I have followed the guide to the letter: -
    DVD - PAL using MPEG layer 11 audio, video type is non interlaced and at 1:1 ratio. Other settings are set to 2 pass VBR, non interlaced, 9 bits precision and highest quality motion search.

This is where i hit the problem.