1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nat type 3??

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by wrules, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. wrules

    wrules Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i've heard so many people talking about having nat type 3, i have it as well. Everyone keeps saying it is bad. What is Nat Type 3?
    How do I change the Nat type?
    Why do people keep saying that it is bad?

    BTW I HAVE A BELKIN ROUTER AND HAVE A WIRELESS CONNECTION
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. canuckerz

    canuckerz Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Nat 3 is the result of being hooked into a router without being properly setup for data transfer. essentially it is restrictive.

    There are 3 ways to change your Nat type to type 2 or 1. (Nat type 2 meaning that it is properly setup without restrictions behind a router, and Nat 1 being a direct connection to the Internet).

    1.) Hook the PS3 directly into the modem will result in a Nat type 1, but of course that means disconnecting everything but the ps3 and that's an unnecessary hassle.

    2.) Going into the router settings and Port Forwarding the PS3's necessary ports to the Ps3's ip address.

    3.) Probably the simplest (on most routers) and most effective is to go into the router and set the PS3's ip address in the DMZ (DeMilitarized Zone), essentially the router doesnt have any say from what comes and goes to the Ps3, which is good so the connection isn't hampered.
     
  4. wrules

    wrules Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just changed it to nat type 2 by enabling upnp. What is better Nat type 2 or Nat type 1?
     
  5. sanecrazy

    sanecrazy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is there a guide on how to do this? What do what i write under application and what port range do i put in in the Port Range Forward section of my linskys router set up?

    cheers
     
  6. canuckerz

    canuckerz Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  7. ooZEROoo

    ooZEROoo Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    There is not one better than the other. In my opinion instead of doing all the port forwarding either turn on UPNP or put the PS3 in DMZ.
     
  8. Pepp77

    Pepp77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There are 3 types of NAT

    Type 1 - PS3 Connected directly to Modem - This is basically a no-NAT solution.

    Type 2 - PS3 Connected via a router with the correct ports forwarded in NAT to the PS3 and open in the firewall.

    In terms of the PS3 neither is better, however with type 2 you can have your computer and PS3 online at the same time whereas you wouldnt be able to with type 1.

    Type 3 - PS3 Connected via a router with the correct ports not forwarded in NAT to the PS3 and/or not open in the firewall.
     
  9. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I was having the same problem,i had no upnp and was on nat 3,all i did to fix it was to turn my PC of.
     
  10. TheEND7

    TheEND7 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have Version DSL and NAT type 3 and i can't figure this out... can anyone help me?
     
  11. Gibber1

    Gibber1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a D-Link router. I had UPNP enabled but the PS3 said I was NAT type 3. I enabled an option called "Gaming Mode" and that allowed me to move to NAT type 2. Although I'm new to PS3 and am unsure if people are developing ways to hack into PS3s this method can save you putting the PS3 in the DMZ.
    As far as port forwarding (at least for Dlink)
    I see there is 4 entries for Port forwarding for the PS3
    2 from LAN to WAN & 2 from WAN to LAN (Inbound & Outbound) Looks like it's best to allow UPNP & Gaming Mode to take care of it, otherwise you'll have to enter 2: Inbound and Outbound

    The following should take care of the problem:
    INBOUND
    Click "Enabled"
    For name type whatever, perhaps "PS3 IN"
    Click "Allow"
    Change Source Interface to "WAN"
    IP Start & End, put in a star "*" for each
    Change Destination Interface to "LAN"
    IP Start & End, put the PS3 IP in start - its best to give PS3 a static IP if you have alot of computers in the house
    For schedule Click "Always"
    For protocol put a star "*" in both
    For ports put a star "*" in both
    Click Apply

    OUTBOUND
    Click "Enabled"
    For name type whatever, perhaps "PS3 OUT"
    Click "Allow"
    Change Source Interface to "LAN"
    IP Start & End, put in PS3 IP Address
    Change Destination Interface to "WAN"
    IP Start & End, put in star "*" for both
    For schedule Click "Always"
    For protocol put a star "*" in both
    For ports put a star "*" in both
    Click Apply

    If you want the Port numbers here they are:
    Outbound: 3658 & 3074 both UDP
    Inbound: 3658 & 3074 both UDP
    Sub those port numbers for the star "*" in port range
    Sub UDP for star "*" in protocol

    Hope this helps (Parameters should be standard for all routers)
     
  12. jesdaking

    jesdaking Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    remember that it's not allways, only the router that need to get ports open. your modem can have firewall and need to get the ports opend too.
     

Share This Page