1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEC 3500 and Standard DVD ROM Drive Setup

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by stepho, Sep 8, 2004.

1. stepho

stepho Member

Hello. A complete newbie here. I got my Dell 4600 yesterday, it comes with an "Optional 48x CDRW/DVD Combo Drive 48xCD-R, 32xCD-RW, 48xCD, 16xDVD with PowerDVD and RecordNOW" - I also bought the new Dual Layer NEC 3500 DVD Burner. I'm going to try to put the new burner in tonight but I believe I need to set which one will be master/ slave etc and I have to find out about rip locking and bit setting as I will be using the burner to backup XBOX games. Can anyone offer any advise on setting up these two drives so they work most effectively.

Also - what software will I need - I have DVD2One, DVD-DECRYPTOR at the mo. All useful replies much appreciated.......stevo

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Personally since DVD burners need priority I'd set the NEC as Secondary master and the combo drive as Secondary Slave since I never fool around with "on the fly" copying and would prefer to leave the hard drive by itself on its own channel though I imagine you could place the combo drive as Primary Slave if you wish.

I'd recommend using the combo drive for all your ripping chores since it most likely will not have it's DVD video rip speed locked.

Here's a link to an NEC-3500 SL/DL bitsetting utility:

http://wesleytech.com/files/MADDOG2F8.rar

If you want to wear out your burner faster here's a riplock-free firmware:

http://tdb.rpc1.org/#MD16XDVD9

3. 2005

2005 Regular member