1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need a Good way to block websites...tried everything!!!

Discussion in 'Windows - Software discussion' started by bilal123, Feb 14, 2007.

  1. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi, i just wanted a reliable method to block certain gaming websites from my kid.

    I have tried a router which is not up to anything,firewalls and many more.

    Changing hosts files was good as my child thinks that the website is not working but i can not block parts of a website, like bbc.co.uk/cbbc

    Thanks.
     
  2. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I tell my clients about this free software. It's called K9 Web Protection. Its available at the link below. . .
    http://www.download.com/K9-Web-Protection/3000-2162_4-10519321.html?tag=lst-0-1

    It is a great piece of software. You install it and it becomes part of the Internet Explorer browser. You set a password so kids cant change the settings. There so much to this handy program I can't explain it all. But here a brief description from the link I gave you...

     
  3. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Forgot to put this in my last post. But if certain sites you dont want your son to be on are not blocked you can add them to your own custom "Do Not Allow" list.

    And the program is free it just requires you to register at the main website for a free serial key. I have done it and it's a pretty pain-free process.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2007
  4. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thank you, but it does not work on Firefox.

    Is it an Explorer only app?
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2007
  5. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yep not working on either firefox or internet explorer for me. It just says:

    "Unable to connect

    Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 127.0.0.1:2372"

    And is similar on explorer.

     
  6. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lol...i am a retard, turns out that i forgot to reboot the pc. Now i have got everything working.

    Just one question can you not get the blocked sites to display as the server is not available (like in hosts) instead of staying "the site you tried to visit is in this computer's list of sites to always block."
     
  7. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    lol don't worry about it it happens to the best of us.

    I don't believe that you can change a option in the program to make it do that. I personally have never seen such an option but look around there may be. good luck.
     
  8. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    will do, thanks
     
  9. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    no prob. - Pea.
     

Share This Page