1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help Bad!!

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Schwaggy, Feb 18, 2005.

  1. Schwaggy

    Schwaggy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Somehow in the middle of fresh windows install it screwed up and i had to restart my pc! Before windows loaded it gave me a list of choices of operating systems to load......."Windows XP Media Center" or Windows Setup! Long story short I tried to fix it by deselecting the box in startup and recovery options that said "time to display operating systems" hoping it wouldnt show up anymore! Well now it loads windows setup every time! Any clue how to fix!
     
  2. nownthen

    nownthen Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So you've unselected the box and it still comes up. It maybe because that is to turn off the ability to switch between operating systems to start up with. What you have is a choice between setup and an OS.

    Did you unselect the recovery option too. There is a chance that might solve your problem.
     
  3. Schwaggy

    Schwaggy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No i deselected the box, and now i dont get any options! it automatically loads windows setup!
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    i think you'll have to restart from scratch or reboot off xp cd & select repair option
     
  5. Schwaggy

    Schwaggy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i figured as much! damnit that sucks! Well is there a setup file i can erase or a boot config file i can edit!

    I tried putting in windows install cd and booting to the repair screen and it asks what windows i want to logon to! after i select it it goes to c:\windows prompt!
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    could try renaming win.com to win.old if in xp other than that do a quick format than reload xp from scratch & fresh
     
  7. Schwaggy

    Schwaggy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    will try thanks!
     
  8. Schwaggy

    Schwaggy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    tried it and it didnt work, reinstalled and the option doesnt come up anymore! thanks anyways!
     
  9. Schwaggy

    Schwaggy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks all
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2005
  10. Schwaggy

    Schwaggy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  11. Schwaggy

    Schwaggy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    sorry i was just testing something! this is actually the most i could get my old processor to overclock! AMD athlon 2800+
     
  12. Schwaggy

    Schwaggy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    lets see if it works
     

Share This Page