1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need help for backups

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by loli36, Jun 10, 2007.

  1. loli36

    loli36 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey,, i've backup four of my ps2 games on dvd-r with alchol 120 and nero at the speed of x4, only one of them work. the problem with the other ones are that once the disc plays past the playstation 2 sign, into the intro menu thing, it starts to flash, or shutter,, the display has colour. Can someone please tell me whats going on and how can i fix it?
     
  2. liljone

    liljone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what are you useing Swap Magic (boot CD) or a mod chip to play your ps2 games?
     
  3. loli36

    loli36 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i'm using a mod chip, the games thats playable is in the format of pal, the other three are in ntsc. but then again, my other games that are ntsc is playable
     
  4. liljone

    liljone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    unless u live outside of the US, PAL is a format used outside of the US most foreign games used them, if you live in the US, most videos formats in the US use NTSC! It could be the video format of your TV/ps2 game is using!
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2007
  5. loli36

    loli36 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yea.. but then again, my other ntsc games are playable so,,
     
  6. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    most mod chips have no problem playing both NTSC and PAL. Although some do have settings like Y-Position fix and force region modes that help them play better. YOu problem is most likely due to either low quality cheap DVD's, the wrong burning speed being used, or your burners firmware needs to be updated to a newer version if one is available.

    suggestions for better results:
    1. only use top quality DVD's, this is very important.
    2. update your burners firmware if available
    3. Use DVD Decrypter if you are copying from an original disc to a new blank DVD http://home.earthlink.net/~moderator/id3.html
    4. Use IMGburn if you are just burning the ISO.
    5. Use an 8X DVD-R and burn at 4X speed.
    6. see what chip you have and see what settings it has that may help, like a force NTSC or force PAL mode that will make all games be payed in your consoles standard format.
     
  7. loli36

    loli36 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i've tried what you've recommended but it seem like its not doing any help, rather, now it doesn't even go past the ps2 sign. I've tried to burn at the speed of x1 and x16, they both don't work. i'm using dvd-r, fujifilm that can write from x1 to x16, i've tried alcohol and imgburn... they both don't seem to work...
     
  8. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Unless your Fujifilm DVD-Rs media IDs turn out to be RICOHJPNs or something, Fujifilm are notably known as the lesser quality media brands compared to the top-tier ones like Sony, Verbatim, Taiyo Yuden especially Ritek and Maxell. Like what steimy said, top quality DVD media brands are quite important to ensure better boot rates, performance, lesser strain on the laser and so forth. I believe Taiyo Yudens are overall better since I think they also produce DVDs for both Sony and Verbatim although I'll just let someone clarify this before you go believing this.

    Most games, if you have a PAL PS2 and are trying to play NTSC region games or vice versa, unless you have the TV or functions to play either of them correctly and properly, most games you import from NTSC if you have a PAL PS2 or vice versa, will have problems displaying correctly.

    What steimy says highlights pretty much most of your problems. Try checking those before you try anything else.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2007
  9. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Z3120 brings up a good point that i missed. If the TV doesn't support both PAL and NTSC screen rates then the game from another region will not play without a converter. There are other possibilities as to why the games do not work but try all of the above before going into deeper problems like cleaning and adjusting the laser and so on.
     
  10. loli36

    loli36 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok,, thanks i'll try all these suggestions and see what happens
     
  11. loli36

    loli36 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    nothing's happenning,, same thing occuring
     
  12. loli36

    loli36 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok back again,, gotta update with you guys,,, i've backup another disc that i borrowed from friend,, its in pal,, since it's from US... done it with alcohol 120%, at the speed of 4x,, with fujifilm dvd-r and it worked! ... now i am really confused since both pal and ntsc works,, but others don't!!!
     
  13. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What do you mean both PAL and NTSC work but others don't? Do you mean the PAL and NTSC version of the same game work but the other games you are trying to get working have not? Check for the media ID here for the one you previously used before borrowing one from your friend and the Fujifilm DVD you also got from your friend and post the media IDs of both of them here. You can look at the media ID of a disc using DVD Decryptor and such.


    Are you using the correct Swap Magic disc to boot your PS2 game? Swap Magic CD for PS2 CD-based games, those that are blue-colored on the back, and Swap Magic DVD for PS2 DVD games that are silvery on the back. And what game(s) are you trying to get to work?
     
  14. loli36

    loli36 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what i mean is that,, i've borrowed a japanese version of the game from one of my friend (ddr) that one worked, tried the us version, that on worked too. The other games are gta san andreas and dynasty warriors, but both isn't working. i'm using a mod chip installed in my ps2 to play these disc.
     
  15. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What mod-chip are you using? What PS2 version are you exactly using? Check here. What region is your PS2 originally? PAL, NTSC or NTSC-J? How big are the ISOs of GTA: San Andreas, Dynasty Warriors and the DDR game you borrowed from your friend? What were the media IDs listed in DVD Decryptor on the right-hand side on each DVD you managed to get working or not trying to burn these specific games? (You never answered my previous post about media IDs)

    Most likely, from what you've said and experienced, I think you have a PAL region modded PS2 and have been able to play several NTSC games fine while others have failed, right? It could be multiple things including a bad burn or being unable to properly display the game in the correct screen resolution like it has been suggested in previous posts. Have you bothered to try playing these games using another TV and see if the problem still occurs? If your mod-chip can support or do a force Y-resolution fix, have you done so? Have you bothered activating this function to see if you still have problems displaying the game. Check to see what mod-chip you have specifically and see if your mod-chip comes with these options.

    Edit: And use top-tier quality media. Try switching to Verbatim, Taiyo Yuden, Sony, Ritek or Maxell and see if the problem still continues. Unless the media IDs were different from what you were using and the one you borrowed from your friend, I think they're both the same expletive bad quality media that you've been trying to get working. Using bad quality media like Fujifilm only tells me you've had a bad choice of DVD media, hence, why you have so many infrequent failures or just plain horrible burns.

    Even if you managed to get your PAL and NTSC version of the same DDR game to work, how's the performance on it? Does it have any visual defects, longer than usual loading times, some slight freezes and stutters or what? Evaluating the performance of your games onto the DVD media you've burnt your games on can be a great indicator on deciding what might have went wrong.

    What DVD burner are you using? Try updating your firmware using the option presented in DVD Decryptor to see if you might still have any problems.

    That does not mean all NTSC games will work properly. Just because you can get one game to work properly from another region i.e. I have a NTSC PS2 and I'm trying to get a PAL version of FF12 working and vice versa, doesn't not mean you can display all games correctly. Some games require a special screen resolution or a force fix you can try to fix using a NTSC to PAL converter or PAL to NTSC converter. NTSC-J (or Japan) and NTSC basically use the same screen resolution, hence, why there is practically no problems in play import games from Japan using an NTSC console, but why there's so much ongoing problems playing NTSC games on a PAL PS2 and vice versa.

    So does that mean you were using 16x Fujifilm DVD-Rs? Check the media IDs on these like I've asked in my previous post.

    And check the media IDs on these also. Are these also 16x Fujifilm DVD-Rs?

    The main reason why it's suggested to not use bad quality media is because the burn success of burning anything on those Fujifilm DVD-Rs are a bad indicator of what is actually wrong. Not only do you have to expect a bad burn or a badly burn portion/sector of the Fujifilm DVD-R every 50+% of the time, but you are trying to get something to work that's already defective or bad to use to begin with. Unless your media IDs come out as something else, Fujifilm is bad, period. And even if the media IDs aren't what I expected, I rather you try using 8x or below Sony DVD-Rs to test your games on.

    Some could use Fujifilm DVDs on their PS2 you might have heard of, which I won't really argue about, but in your case, these Fujifilm DVD-Rs seem to be doing more harm then what they're worth. Different results for different people as the saying goes.

    One thing I like to add (and yes, I've already made quite a long response) is that I shouldn't have said special screen resolution. Some games can also automatically default to fit in a fixed screen resolution on a variety of TVs, no matter what region it's on. But of course, some games don't have this feature, or some TVs don't support auto-detecting and resizing certain screen resolutions, which leads to you being unable to see the screen clearly without it shaking and so forth.

    If anyone wants to point out if I said something weird, by all means point it out. I'm not certainly sure I can even see where I might have made a mistake because of all the typing I just did...
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  16. loli36

    loli36 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    okay,, so sorry that it took so long for reply,, kinda went on vacation since its summer..

    Back to topic, i don't know what mod chip i'm using since someone else helped me install is XD.

    My PS2 version is SCPH-50001, or alike this:
    [​IMG]

    I have noticed a pattern that any isos' smaller than 2.0 GB would work. GTA is 2.59 GB, Dynasty Warrior is 3.45, DDR is 1.90 GB and 1.84.

    I've tried to play with three different TVS, one Sony, one toshiba, and one LG, they all have the same result.

    The DDR games that actually worked doesn't have any visual defects right now, don't know if it will later. Everything seems normal when compared with the original copy.

    I'm starting to suspect that its the size of the isos' that actually creates this error?

    Yeap, i'm using 16x Fujifilm DVD-R's. I have read in other guides on these forums and they say that fujifilms are okay quality, also reason why i bought them.

    If there's anything else you need to know, or i missed info that are needed, please say so!

    Thank you so much for taking this time to help me out!!!

    Here's the DVD Decrypter stuff, don't really know which is the media ID stuff so i hope this helps!


     

Share This Page