1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help from Experienced people

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by barryware, Feb 2, 2005.

1. barryware

barryware Member

OK... I'm a newbie to the forum, however I have been backing up DVD's for a few years now. I need some help from the expertise in this forum. We have all encountered the new protection that deals with bad sectors, blank sectors, and missing keys. I have been able to back up these titles sucessfully but there must be a better way. I will use DVDdecriptor to rip to disk, then Instantcopy to compress and write to the blank media. When DVDDecriptor runs into these sectors, it will skip them and insert dummy blocks. However, this can take several hours (X-men 2000 took 14 hours to rip)Once ripped, instant copy has no problem. Ripping a DVD using a file method does not seem the way to go with this protection. Need a way to read the movie and skip the bad sectors like the DVD player will. After reading some posts, I thought AnyDVD would be the answer. I ran it in the back ground and let Instantcopy go from disk to disk. That didn't seem to work. I don't really know why. It may be that I have some conflicts with the differant software(s) on the PC. So.. Is there any kinda step by step guide using AnyDVD & Instantcopy on the forum? Or AnyDVD & DVD shrink?. I realize that trial and error is the best teacher but any help could save hours and hours of time.

2. sashime76

sashime76 Member

I've mentioned this in another post. I use AnyDVD and CloneDVD (both from Elby/Slysoft), they work 90%+ the time. If I have trouble with a particular disc then I try DVD Decrypter and/or DVDFab. It could be the DVD drive that's having trouble reading correctly.

3. squizzle

squizzle Active member