1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help Please :( .....I've searched

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by lismcd, Mar 5, 2005.

  1. lismcd

    lismcd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all,

    I have been reading the forums for days now trying to find a problem similar to mines. For a few weeks I have been getting a i/o error message. Now it is at the point that i can't copy anything. Here is a list of things I tried so far. Bought a new burner, reinstalled dvd dycrypter and dvdshrink. I was able to burn a movie with dvd dycrypter and the movie came out bad with the picture all disturted.

    I don't have any more ideas to fix this problem. Any help is greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. wolfniggr

    wolfniggr Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    [bold]Need more info[/bold]. How much unused space is left on your hard drive? Have you defraged the hard drive? What speed are you burning at? Are all your drives set to DMA? Is your firmware updated? What steps do you take when making a backup? What movies are giving you problems? Have you backed up movies before? What media have you used?

    Give as much info as possible. I'm sure there are a ton of people who can figure out what's wrong once you give more info.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2005
  3. lismcd

    lismcd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the reply.

    I have 11.9 GB left on hard drive. No I have not defragmented my hard drive in awhile. I burn at 4 speed.
    How do i check my drives do you mean controllers?

    I use dvd shrink and burn with dycrpter. I have been burning movies for months now and this i/o message just started happening either at sychranizing movie or actual backup so I never get to the actual burning part. I am using maxell disks to burn with. Also I am getting this message with every movie. example office space, toy story 2, harold and kumar go to white castle to name a few. thanks again
     
  4. pulsar

    pulsar Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    De-Frag, disc clean up, adaware & spybot your PC. Then give it a whirl!
     
  5. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    "never get to the actual burning"

    You've been burning ok for months and then all of a sudden it quit working.

    Have you changed anything about your media like format/rated speed listed/different spindle size/or brand name?

    What is the exact maxell media you are using? example -4x.

    Do as pulsar posted and clean out that pc.

    Have you always used maxell media or did you switch to them around the time this issue started happening?

    I got a new I/O 16x burner that would not recognize my maxell -4x yellowtops coded ritek g04's. I updated the firmware,and those go4's burned successfully.

    Run those discs your were having trouble with and some of the good backups when you were burning ok through dvd decrypter and tell us those codes. If you got the -4x yellowtops, your firmware may need updated. There are 3 codes for this same media: ritek-go4,tygo1, and mxl-rg02. All 3 are very good,if the burner's firmware is programed for them. This is a good possibility on your issue.
     
  6. Hrdrk20

    Hrdrk20 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you're up to it and don't have many files on your harddrive, you can reformat your harddrive and re-install Win XP Professional. If you PM me I can let you know what files you need to download first or I can IM them to you on AIM messenger.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. lismcd

    lismcd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, I am defraging my computer now. Hoping that might solve my problem because it has been along time since it was done last.

    My disks were Maxell dvd+r and I've been using them for awhile now. I never came across a problem during the actual buring part of the process. My problem is using shrink to backup to hardrive. It gives me a i/o error either on the analizing part or afterwards when i click backup on shrink.

    Thanks, lisa
     
  8. lismcd

    lismcd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried defraging my hard drive and I also used a spy program to delete my spy ware. I am still receiving the i/o error, any more advice?
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2005
  9. wolfniggr

    wolfniggr Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Read forum rules. lismcd, do yourself a favor and edit your last reply.
     

Share This Page