1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need help,problem with monitor

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by markb1, Mar 25, 2007.

  1. markb1

    markb1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    when pc is switched off for any amount of time,which is usually over night,the monitor remains black for about 3 to 4 minutes before it comes on when i turn on pc.
    i know this is probably a bad sign but does anyone know is there anything i can do or should i just get a new monitor,im assuming its the monitor thats the problem.

    its a Phillips monitor and is only about 2 years old so its a bit of a bummer.
     
  2. tuxbox

    tuxbox Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you can get a new monitor. also if you have anything with magnets around your monitor that could be the reason why your monitor doesn't work.
     
  3. markb1

    markb1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    nothing with magnets around pc,i know i can buy a new monitor but id like to know can it be fixed before i hand out 100 to 200 euro.
     
  4. Blackjax

    Blackjax Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Check your OS settings first. You may have your hard drive going into sleep or hibernate mode which can take longer for it to come back up. The system has to "wake up" and refresh it's settings and time adds depending on the speed of your system.
     
  5. markb1

    markb1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    sorry for being a complete loser when it comes to pc`s,but where do i find the os settings?
    thank you in advance.
     
  6. Sandwich1

    Sandwich1 Guest

    Control panel.^^
     
  7. markb1

    markb1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok ive found power options,hibernate is enabled,should i disable it?
     
  8. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    disconnect your monitor from the PC. then turn it on. if it doesn't come up almost immediately with a line saying something like "no signal detected," it's not an issue with the OS, it's a problem with the monitor.

    try that; it will help sort things.

    as for hibernate, you don't need to disable that. it would have no effect. doesn't sound like a standby issue, either, as once the machine itself is on you should see something on the screen pretty quickly.
     

Share This Page