1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help!! Problems with Windows Vista and/or Toshiba

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by SirenStar, Apr 17, 2007.

1. SirenStar

SirenStar Member

Hi,
    I've been a computer user for yrs and yrs but I'm not good at trouble shooting or solving problems without help. I don't know if my problems are Vista or Toshiba related or both so I'm asking here hoping someone can tell me.

I just bought the Toshiba Satellite Laptop with Windows Vista and one thing that happens is this drop down thing on the screen that looks like the row of keys with ESC, F1, F2, etc. It comes on out of nowhere and sometimes it won't go away. Even if you click on any of the keys, it doesn't do anything. Just gets in the way by covering up what I need to click on my web pages, etc. I don't know if this is a Toshiba or Vista problem but I would love to disable it.

The second problem is that I can't find where to adjust my touchpad for certain things. I go to mouse in control panel and even click on the synaptics icon and it only gives me certain options. The problem is when I go to double click on something, if I'm not right in the center, it just minimizes the screen instead of doing whatever it is I wanted to do. On my old laptops, you could set what you wanted the touchpad to do and the actual amount of area you needed on the pad for tapping (the area of the 4 corners I mean). I want to disable this minimising feature when you double click and I can't find where to do it.