1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with a PSX game, can't load

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by jxt, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. jxt

    jxt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, so I downloaded Star Ocean 2 Undub version cause frankly the english voices were annoying and I always thought the game deserved better voice acting. But whatever I do, I can't seem to play it on my PS2!

    I use Swap Magic Coder with a Slide Tool, and I play PS2 DVD games fine, haven't tested with cd. I burned the DVD games with DVD Decrypter. But I can't seem to get Star Ocean 2 to work. I've tried with both the Cd and Dvd version of Swap Magic, though I haven't tested to see whether other ps1 games, or cd games work for me or not.

    I've tried DVD Decrypter on the lowest possible write speed. I've tried Alcohol 120% on lowest write speed with PS1 mode, PS2 mode, and on cd's and dvd's. But when I load it in, it goes to the "reading disc" screen (the browser i think) then goes to the red "can't load" screen. I'm terribly frustrated, and I'm wondering whether I'm doing anything wrong? I've read most of the forums stuff, but either I'm missing something or it's not working.

    I've also wondered whether my coder cd version thing is defective. Any feedback would be useful.
     
  2. lanepwnu

    lanepwnu Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    your swap magic should have come with 2 cd's

    one is for dvd's or ps2 games the other is for cd's or psx games

    try using the cd swap magic disc

    also: not all discs are supported with this method.

    another method i have used for playing psx games is to go to the browser in the ps2. eject the tray and put in a psx game. then when it recognizes it instead of booting it use the slide card to swap with the burned one. slide it back in and push the card to original position. then press x to boot. works every time for me. played nascar rumble, crash bandicoot, gran turismo and road rash. the original used was ecw hardcore revolution.
     
  3. jxt

    jxt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I already tried the cd swapper, I tried both cd and dvd version multiple times. The cd swapping method where you go to browser and put in a psx game didn't work either. I used my FF8 and 9 games to try, and they both brought me to the play station logo, but didn't go on to the game. I'm starting to think I possibly copied the game wrong, though I've tried it multiple ways (I have 2 dvd's and 9 cd's of the game now...) I've read the guides on the forums, but they don't seem to be working for me. At least for this game. I'll have to try other games and/or other brands of cd's to see if they might work. Anyone wanna tell me what to do and whatnot, cause I seem to be doing something wrong.
     
  4. jxt

    jxt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, I'm gonna try to make it more clear so it's easier to understand cause I went back and read and felt some things weren't clear.

    I downloaded the game, and it came in bin and cue files. Using alcohol 120% search for image files, giving me the cue-sheets image files, which i assume includes both the bin and cue files. I right click and do image burning. On the following menu (the file name is the cue file) I click next. I set the datatype to play station, and write speed to 8 times. I burn it.

    I've also done it with dvd decrypter, which didn't work. I've also tried many variations of the process, but none seem to work. My cd brand is Dynex, CD-R.

    Anything wrong there? It doesn't seem to work, so the file is corrupt or something? Or is the problem later?

    I put the swap magic coder cd version in. It loads, and I set it to normal. I use slide tool to open the cd case thing, and swap out the cd. I push it back in, and lock it with the slide tool. I set video to default, and let it run. But at this point the cd starts spinning, then stops and the screen goes to the browser saying "reading disc". Then it goes to the red screen.

    I'm fairly sure I'm not doing anything wrong here, as I've done it with dvd games with the dvd coder, and it works fine there. (actually better than my original one, cause that one was getting old...)

    I've also tried the method described like two posts above where I put it a PS1 game, and go to the browser. I then use slide tool and switch out the game to my burned one, then start the ps1 game through the browser. It goes to the PlayStation logo with the little sound at this point, but doesn't load any farther. I've used FF8, and FF9 cd's to try.

    Based on my experience, I think my cd is somehow flawed. If anyone would help out, I'd be very thankful.
     
  5. lanepwnu

    lanepwnu Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    FIRST OFF NO DUBLE POSTING!!!


    check lotz of different things

    1. put your burned game into the computer and check if there are indeed files (checks if the image is corrupt)

    2. try using either imation or verbatim cd's

    3. try using clone cd to burn MAKE SURE WHATEVER YOU USE IS BURNING TRACK AT ONCE NOT DISC AT ONCE

    4. if you have a psx or psone try using the swap trick on it and try to find out if it boots on that

    thats all i can think of right now!
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2007
  6. jxt

    jxt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sry about the double post, was talking to someone when I made it. In hindsight, it probably would've been better as an edit.

    My comp recognizes the cd's as having files in them, so I don't think it's broken or anything. Not sure how exactly I would tell if it's broken, but I assume it isn't.

    Are imation or verbatim brand's of cd's? I'll have to buy them and see if they work. Recently bought memorex brand cd's, so I'll check those out first.

    Same with clone cd, do they sell it at best buy or something? Don't think I've seen it in the software section.

    I'll have to dig up my old ps again. I assume the swap trick is the one described before. My old ps has a modchip (though I dunno what kind) so I might not have to use the swap trick.

    Ty for the reply, I'll try some things and post my results or something.
     
  7. motautis

    motautis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I cant get my backups to play on my ps2 either, I got swap magic 3.8 and it does say it doesnt support psx games, so is there any way to get them to play on my v12 or up ps2?
     
  8. idotv

    idotv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Breaker Pro will play PSX disks in ps2 or psx
     
  9. lanepwnu

    lanepwnu Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sorry i forgot that swap magic does not play psx games.

    only coded to load ps2 games

     
  10. jxt

    jxt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Swap magic doesn't play psx games? Drat. Been trying various things all over, but didn't realize it didn't play psx games. I also tried loading phantom brave, which i believe is a cd game for ps2, but it didn't work either, so I was beginning to think it was my cd version of swap magic wasn't working but this puts it in a new light. I'll buy breaker pro or something and try some other things out.
     
  11. wizzdome

    wizzdome Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey there is one thing that i found with burning any games for playstation dont burn at 4x or greater get clone cd and burn at 1x i have had no trouble with any games burned at 1x but when i tried wincdr at 4x it wouldnt load on my console not sure what the problem was so i burned a psx gameshark disk (v5) and use that to load games on the psx i have a post about playing on unmodded psx but as for ps2 my guess would be if you can run gameshark on it you could do the same but problem is i dont think the disk stops unless you got a flip top you can run with the top up like i do my psx well just a thought for you hope burning at 1x works good luck...

     

Share This Page