1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with Gma950 in Windows Xp!

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by escufrank, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. escufrank

    escufrank Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I bought a Toshiba Laptop with a Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950 with 8MB-256MB, And Windows VISTA . Long story short. Vista is a crappy OS.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2015
  2. pcrepair

    pcrepair Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It is dynamic memory so it gets used on a as needed basis and if you don't need it the system uses it instead
    not the type of graphics power for good games
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    how much ram do you have & have you been in the bios to change the amount assigned to the video?
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    linux might work but not certain. don't think mac os will but might depend on the version. pm moderator creaky with this thread link as he is into linux if correct as don't need you to start another thread for linux on that laptop.
     
  7. telm

    telm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi escufrank, I have the same notebook as you and im having the same problem.
    Did you find a solution for this. I like XP Pro and i dont want to go back to vista.
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    pm creaky or deadlove as they are into linux & might be able to help you then start a thread in the linux forum so others can see the info to learn from.
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hmm, two things you'll need to bear in mind are that the GMA950 often has problems playing CS:S in XP(Although the original 1.6 should be fine) and also, Linux isn't always the best bet for games.
     
  11. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Come on be reasonable, Vista barely crashes. I have Vista Ultimate Edition running on a Celeron D 300 at 2.66 GHZ, with 512MB PC2700 RAM, no vid card(Built in GFX, Intel 845GV), crappy generic Mobo and Vista runs fine.
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That's actually why. The faster your PC, the worse Vista runs. A 2.0Ghz P4 laptop from years back had to wait 3 seconds before the installer came up. It took 4 minutes on my mate's 4200+, 6 minutes on my E4300, and 8 when it was overclocked.
     
  13. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    WTF, are you serious? That's very odd.
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    yep, and that was the same with two different versions as well.
     

Share This Page