1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with slow torrent speed

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by Huskie, Sep 8, 2007.

1. Huskie

Huskie Member

Hi, everybody. I'm new to this site and torrenting itself.
    I have read a handful of guides and searched the forums, but haven't found any solution that could effectively solve my problem(s).

I'll try to be as detailed as possible, since as I said, I'm new to torrenting, and don't know what information is relevant and what isn't.

I'm using Windows XP SP2, downloaded a patch that opens up more ports (don't know exactly what it does, but somebody reccomended it for somebody else with a similar computer and internet connection then mine, so i thought I'd give it a try). My internet is supposed to be 512kB/s, though on some speedtests I've done it ranged about 100kB/s higher or lower than that, depending on the speedtest I took (all located on my city).

I'm using uTorrent, and started downloading a 6+GB file. The speed is down to a crawl, though (~5-10kB/s), with my upload speed mostly higher than the download speed (~10-20kB/s), especially as of late. My share ratio is over 0.92 atm, and I have only downloaded 1GB as of yet, and from what I read, this is not exactly normal.

In the beggining of the downloads I connect to one or two seeds, eventhough the program says there are a few dozen available (and a couple thousand on swarm, whatever that means). Only after a few hours it will start connecting to more of those available seeds, but even then, the speed remains pretty low.

The number of peers is also rather low (I think), usually three to four times the amount of seeds.

The download speed is uncapped, and the upload speed is capped at 22kB/s, though I've never seen it reaching the cap anyway.