1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with Swap Magic QUICK please!!

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by rewtbeer, Apr 18, 2005.

  1. rewtbeer

    rewtbeer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, here it is.

    Basically, my ps2 wont load my Swap Discs. About 4 days ago (last time the ps2 was used) I was able to play the discs and my buckups no problem.

    I try today, and the boot screen loads up, but then freezes as the swap disc screen. The prompt for swaping discs never comes up.

    This problem works both with the CD and DVD versions.

    I loaded an original copy of a PS1 and and PS2 game, and they booted.

    So any help would rock. Thanks.
     
  2. rewtbeer

    rewtbeer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone? pleeease :(
     
  3. rewtbeer

    rewtbeer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    anyone?
     
  4. Silver28

    Silver28 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same thing happened to me a while back. My V7 PS2 was not reading my Swap disks, but was able to play my originals just fine.

    My solution (**do at your own risk**, I'm just telling you what worked for me)

    I turned (Counter clockwise) the cog (white radial disk inside the PS2) until it "dropped", usually it's half a turn, then after the drop turned it back to original position and turned it counter clockwise 2 clicks at a time until it worked.
     
  5. rewtbeer

    rewtbeer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i'll try it. thanks for the reply man.
     
  6. rewtbeer

    rewtbeer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey it worked! Thanks man!

    And this is why I love this forum!
     
  7. Silver28

    Silver28 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No problem, anytime
     
  8. mrcool_g

    mrcool_g Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey there...my swap magic dvd stopped working for some reason..
    there seems to b some kind of a mark on the disk behind...which is wierd since ive always taken good care of it...now its becoming a problem...i dont want to order a new set...so is there a way i can boot my dvd backups thru the swap magic cd disk? and also could u please explain the cog trick u were talkin bout earlier..i didnt understand...
    thank u
     
  9. Silver28

    Silver28 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Both of my Swap disks have a small nitch (kinda like a scratch) but this has no effect on bootup. And to add, other swap disks I have bought for friends and family have these nitches as well, so that is not your problem, I don't think.

    I think your "cog" radial needs to be re-adjusted.

    http://www.cyber-mag.com/station/laserPS2.htm

    Try that link and READ AND UNDERSTAND BEFORE YOU DO IT, try at your own risk. Go to the part that reads "Adjusting Lens angle (Part 1)".

    That fixed the exact problem you are having.

     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2005
  10. Blue_Oval

    Blue_Oval Guest

    that is a very helpful fix for the ps2..i actually did that a year ago to my old version 4 ps2 and it works like new again.. i got the trick out of a GAMEPRO mag....
     
  11. mrcool_g

    mrcool_g Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey
    i think its a problem with the dvd disk cos...
    all my dvd games work...its jus the dvd swap magic disk that doesnt work...but im gonna try th cog thing anyway
    thx
    will post bak
     

Share This Page