1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with updating 424b LiteOn iHAS Drive with GL1B firmware

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by acorrea4, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. acorrea4

    acorrea4 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just bought a new Lite On Drive and I was trying to update the firmware so that I can use iXtreme Burnermax firmware.
    When I bought the drive it came preloaded with GL1B firmware, which I read could not be updated due to no firmware out for it. But I did read that it could be CrossFlashed to a working version that is compatible with Ixtreme software.

    Tried to follow about 3 different peoples steps, but nothing worked for me. Any idea of what Im doing wrong or if I can update this drive somehow.....????
     
  2. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Did you try my guide?.......

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/t.cfm/f..._liteon_ihas_drive_to_unlock_features-915138/

    Download the GL27 firmware for the 624B linked to in that tutorial and cross-flash your drive to that, then update to GL29 using the exe file that's part of the Burner Max firmware pack, then flash with Burner Max. Then you'll have an iHAS 624B with Burner Max. If you follow my tutorial you should be fine - and make sure to create backups as detailed in the tutorial.

    Obviously, flashing/cross-flashing a drive is done at your own risk!
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2012
  3. acorrea4

    acorrea4 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I grabbed the GL27 firmware and when I opened the progam so that I can update the firmware, I get two small bars and an error (Writing of FLASH failed!)
    Any idea? Can I do without this step somehow?

    PS - I did make sure I ran under admin, and that the iHAS drive been selected. It shows Change From GL1B -> GL27
    Flash ID C2 14 00 2F
    Flash Size 2MB

    Then I clicked on Write Flash
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2012
  4. acorrea4

    acorrea4 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

    Step #3 giving me issues. Please check below
     
  5. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    There's a couple of things you can try.

    1. Try setting the SATA mode to IDE. If it's set to ACHI it can cause issues with flashing.

    2. Try using Flash Utility to flash the drive using the unscrambled exe you downloaded: -

    http://club.myce.com/f44/flash-utility-plds-liteon-based-optical-drives-v6-0-1-new-190420/

    Scroll down to the "How to do a Flash write" section.

    3. You can try using the GL29 bin file and Flash Utility rather than the exe file. Bin file: -

    http://www.mediafire.com/?g3qm72uvzrbf40o

    That will take your drive directly to GL29.

    If one of these steps works, you will still have to complete the other steps in my guide to fully convert your drive to an iHAS 624B before you flash it with Burner Max.
     
  6. acorrea4

    acorrea4 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I received errors when I tried to Write Flash both GL27.stock file or the GL29.bin file. I received the same two blue bars as if the write will happen, but then the error message pops up....geez didnt think this would be so hard to figure out. Any other ideas? Thanks for the help
     
  7. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If you've tried literally everything I've suggested then the only things I can suggest are either using a Xecuter USB Pro to flash it or trying it in another computer.
     
  8. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I had the same problem a few months back. Nothing would flash/write to the drive. Just like you, I got two bars, then the error.

    Go into your computer's setup BIOS.
    Change the Sata Controller Mode from "RAID" to "IDE".
    That's what worked for me.
    If that doesn't work change it to "AHCI".

    Post back if it works.
     

Share This Page