1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need help wiv intel (GMA) 950

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by shadow567, May 27, 2007.

  1. shadow567

    shadow567 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i need help laptop i have a toshiba a100-596 and i am havin problams wiv my graphic card it is showing 64mb total available grapic mermory. but on the toshiba site it says my laptop spec shud hav memory up to 128 can sum1 plz tell if dere is sumthing wrong with my grapic card or is it normal


    spec ov laptop

    Intel® Centrino® Duo Mobile Technology featuring Intel® Core™ Duo Processor T2250,

    Intel® 945GM Express chipset

    512 ov ram
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    in your bios see if can change memory size of video ram to 128meg but remember that the videoram is actually part of the main ram of the pc of 512meg.
     
  3. shadow567

    shadow567 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    can u plz tell how do i check my bois

    an if i put 1gb ram my video card memory shud go up
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check your user guide/manual to see how to access the bios as there is not a standard way. some computers use del, others use f1 or f2 so check the book. videocard might go up on it's own when main ram goes to 1gig but not certain.
     
  5. shadow567

    shadow567 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i am gonna update to 1.5gb ram and see wot happens but be4 i do is my graphic card gud or is it better dan gf6600
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    depends on what you are going to do with the laptop
     
  7. shadow567

    shadow567 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    all im gonna do add a 1gb hynix and combian wiv the 512bm so i can play games like need for speed carbon an rainbow six
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check games' specs in relation to your videocard to see how well it will play.
     
  9. shadow567

    shadow567 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thax ddp u been alot ov help
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn
     
  11. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I still think Carbon is pushing the 950 too far.
    carbon needs T&L 950 ha sonly software meaning poor quality but your lucky if you get it running without lag at all you will if your cpu is a up to date one.
     
  12. shadow567

    shadow567 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my laptop is upto date and i hav checked if i can play carbon on the intel sit an it say that i can play it so its all gud
     
  13. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Really dont trust the inetl site until you dont try it because that intel site tells you if you can start the game they dont tell you if it will lag or not just liek the Min requirments there to start the game not to play it smooth recommended is smooth...
     
  14. shadow567

    shadow567 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i got the demo version ov carbon its loads but all it is dst it 2 slow cuz ov my ram memory so im jus wait for my 1gb

    so u sayin the intel gma 950 is no gud
     
  15. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Intel Cards are just basic things like so you can see stuff and use apps like AutoCad and Photoshop they arent gaming.
    Intel couldnt make a gaming card if the company depended on it abck in 1997 they made an AGP CARD the Intel i740 and it was about 75% slower then teh competing ATi card.
    But t was only 20% cheaper so after that it never looked past Built in GPU's but funny thing they are still the number 1 graphics supplier in numbers they are beating both Ati and Nvidia.
    the ram might improve it but im thinking its your graphics.
    When you play the game does teh Hardrive come on lots?
    Or does it just lag without it comming on?
    Ive seen PC's run carbon with just 512mb.
    Ivs p[layed Underground 1 and 2 on a 933mhz pentium III but it had a radeon 9550XT.
     
  16. shadow567

    shadow567 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im runnin vista dats y i think it is slow
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    vista is your problem aws you need more ram. does the game specs say anything about vista compatibility?
     
  18. shadow567

    shadow567 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i brought carbon 2day the graphics are betta dan then wot is was from the demo and bit faster so i think its the ram
     
  19. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    P.S i think carbon is much poorer overall then MW maybe i should have said so b4 you got it LOL!
    But its OK id give it 6.8/10
     
  20. shadow567

    shadow567 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i hav brought a 1gb ram and i combied it wiv my 515mb ram (bought hynix) my laptop is faster but my graphic card should 224mb but it is only 64mb and my vista rating is only 2.4 but wen i combied a 256mb ram wiv my 512mb my computer rating was 2.9
     

Share This Page