1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need major help

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by parrot31, Feb 16, 2007.

  1. parrot31

    parrot31 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having problems getting my home built computer to perform properly. For some reason my system is bogging down with little to know processes running. I will run one program like winrar and my system will bog down and show 100% usage. I have included all my system components and operating system. Any suggestions and help would be greatly appreciated.

    CPU Specs

    • AOC Evercool / Socket 754/939/940 / Aluminum / CPU Cooling Fan
    • ABIT KN8 NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard / Audio / PCI Express / Gigabit LAN / S/PDIF / USB 2.0 / Serial ATA / RAID
    • AMD Athlon 64 4000 SanDiego Core Socket 939 CPU
    • Ultra 256MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory
    • Windows XP Pro
    • Seagate 250GB Serial ATA w/NCQ 7200/8MB/SATA-3G
    • Seagate 400GB EIDE HD 7200/8MB/ATA-100
    • Diablo / 550-Watt / ATX / Dual 80mm LED Fan / SATA-Ready / 20-Pin / Power Supply


    if anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. gtjr_ph

    gtjr_ph Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    type msconfig on run, uncheck unecessary programs at start up
    [​IMG]
     
  3. J0hnnyga

    J0hnnyga Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    also might wana check for malware/spyware/viruses
    theres tons of good free scaners that you can get
     
  4. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
  5. parrot31

    parrot31 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks very much for all the help. i have tweaked the hell out of windows.. and they are brand new hard drives..i just dont know where else to look i even have tried abit as well as others...
     
  6. basquiat

    basquiat Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    am i reading that right you have 256mb memory? thats a problem right there...invest in some ram.
     
  7. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Yes 1GB of dual channel ram atleast.

    256MB is just killing your system big time/
     
  8. parrot31

    parrot31 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i meant to say 512 mb of ram my fault
     
  9. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Still killing you :)
     
  10. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    also opening winrar in ALL pc's uses 100% the cpu
     
  11. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Well, is it at 100% the whole time you use it? Because if it's only when it starts it's normal.

    But I still say to get a dual channel 1GB kit of memory for that thing or you aren't getting the most out of that wickedly fast 4000+.
     
  12. parrot31

    parrot31 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Aside from the memory any other recommendations for the system?
     
  13. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    If you wanna game I'd find out what card slot you have and get a video card... other than that... no.
     

Share This Page