1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need some help on a decision i may have to make

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Mxg, Feb 13, 2005.

  1. Mxg

    Mxg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have my ps2 for about 4 years now and it used to wrk fine but now it is bein a little ***** it isnt reading any more Burnt games which i have only strted to use about a week ago so i am new to plaing burnt ps2 games on my ps2 it is eiter a V1 - v4 ps2 i am think i have to replace the lens if so which lens should i get and where shoud i get it and is it hard to replace and finally do i need a special screw driver to take out the screws ? and agin can anyone point me to a link to a tutorial on how to do it ?
    sorry for using AND so much
    it reads some originals fine and i am using swap magic 3.3 so i would really like any reply on this especially on the question on if it is hard to replace it
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    does it read originals fine? If so, sell it on ebay, and buy a new one.
     
  3. Mxg

    Mxg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yea original work fine but wouldnt it be easier to get a new laser lens ?
    becuase i dont want the Mini Ps2 i would just like to fix this one and to rebuy on Ebay costs to much i saw lens for 45 dollars and a PS2 for 80 - 120 on ebay so can u tell me what u think about the lens and how hard it is to install and if i need any tools
     
  4. Mxg

    Mxg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ive been haering about this thing that the PS2 can play games of the hard drive without HD loader anyone kno how to do it have my PS2 HDD already
    i am hoping this could be a solution to selling my PS2 or buying a new lens
     
  5. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    you put hd loader on your memory card. But to run it, you have to load a ps1 game every time.
     
  6. Mxg

    Mxg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thats no problem i still have all my PS1 games
    so how does it work exactly i did a search i didnt really find anything useful
     

Share This Page