1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need to reload windows 2000 professional

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by Peteman23, Mar 14, 2007.

  1. Peteman23

    Peteman23 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I Brought a pc for my daughter its kinda old it has windows 2000 on it now but it didnt come with a w2k cd and i need to reload because theres some problems that i cant fix is there a way to reload or repair windows 2k with out the disk and i dont think it will handle xp didnt really want to buy another os for it because the os is more then i payed for the pc ?
     
  2. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    With this kind of minimal info, we really can't help you very well.
    You can't reinstall win2k without a disc and the key that it is registered with.
    Now, i can tell you that you need to use THIS TOOL to find out the original win2k key, how or where to possibly find a win2k disc is up to you, we can't help you with that.

    I do, however, suggest you download Ccleaner and see if that makes a difference before trying a reinstall, it has helped me restore cluttered windows systems.
     
  3. Peteman23

    Peteman23 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok i got a copy of win2k but it didnt have a serial # so i used the tool you linked me to and it gave me a code that was the one that was on my pc but it says wrong code is there a way to extract the code from the cd?being that microsoft no longer supports win2k shouldnt they have like a master unlock key for it...LOL?
     
  4. DoubleDwn

    DoubleDwn Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The code is not stored on the CD. The key you got from Magic Jelly Bean is the installation key. Maybe you have a win2k Server disk, and are trying to use a 2k pro key. Or, you are using a 2ksp4 CD with a 2k (no sp) key. It can get goofy like this sometimes. You have to reinstall the same version (read release) of Windows that the key was issued for. Make sense? Hope so.

    ~Rich
     
  5. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    @Double

    Have you had issues with using original keys with slipstreamed CDs? I haven't...only keys I've ever had were the originals...and I slipstream everything...including Office.
     
  6. DoubleDwn

    DoubleDwn Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    OK, I know its an old post, but I figured I would respond anyway.

    I have had trouble with office 2KPro in the past not using the same disc as install(original disc was no SP, and the disc used for re-install was SP1). Slipstreaming adds the SP, but I dont think it changes the release info during install.

    So, yeah, I have had some trouble in the past.

    ~Rich
     

Share This Page