1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need your suggestion to buy a video capturing card

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by girlgirl, Mar 18, 2005.

1. girlgirl

girlgirl Member

Hi,

I'm a newbie in video capture. My need is simple. I would like to be able to capture & record programs (with sounds) from the television to my computer.

I'm using a Dell 733 MHZ computer, 512 MB RAM. I understand I will need some sort of video capturing device (some card to stick onto a PCI slot?). I can only afford to spend under $60. Can you folks recommend a product brand?

Thanks,
    GirlGirl

2. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member

Anything with the Conexant BT878 chip on it.
    Shouldn't cost more than $35 US.

3. girlgirl

girlgirl Member

Hi, thank you for the reply. Right now, I'm thinking that maybe I should get a USB interface capturing device instead of the PCI card. That of course has to do with the readings of negative responses from some users for their painful experience during the card installation.

So, there I was, browsing the buy.com, and came up with a USB device (URL link is below) which is quite within my $60 budget. Would you recommend it, based on my need?

http://www.buy.com/prod/Plextor_Con...o_Converter_USB_2_0/q/loc/50088/10364440.html

-Girl

4. girlgirl

girlgirl Member

Oops, have to click SKIP on the upper right hand corner of the screen in order to go directly to the product link.

5. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member

I never recommend USB capture devices.
    USB 2.0 is too slow to capture real-time, Full D1, DVD mpeg, and is too expensive to use for avi, when a $20 card can do extremely high quality avi, then you use a standalone encoder to encode it to mpeg-2 for dvd.
    Save your money on the device, spend it on a good encoder. The results are much better.