1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Needed Software

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by isjka, Mar 6, 2004.

1. isjka

isjka Member

Hi,

I'm totally new to this process so please forgive my ignorance.

I just bought a burner and two dics came with it 1. Sonic MyDVD and 2. PowerDVD. I plan on making back up copies of the DVD I currently own.

According to another thread in the DVD-R for Newbies section, it was mentioned that there are 2 programs needed for copying; Nero and DVD Shrink. My question is do I need to install the discs that came with the drive or will the aforementioned software suffice?

Thanks.

2. cryptdigr

cryptdigr Guest

Noooooooooooooooooooooooo!! Do not install Sonic anything ;) I'm guessing you purchased a LiteOn drive, right? Power DVD is fine for playback. As far as backup and burning .... Nero and DVDShrink should take care of the majority of your needs for now. Once you begin to learn more about EVERYTHING you can actually do then you'll find an abundance of software on this site.
    Have fun!

Tony

3. isjka

isjka Member

Yes, I purchased a Pacific Digital drvie which was a rebadged Lite-On 851s. Good call.

I'll take your word not to install anything from Sonic. Glad I checked.

Thanks.

4. cryptdigr

cryptdigr Guest

No problem, that's what these forums are for . ...

Cheers!

5. -LoNeR-

-LoNeR- Active member

hey

excuse me mate, but what is your problem with sonic?

they make some good software i myself am currently using both PowerDVD and [bold]SONIC[/bold] MyDVD 5

and i got sonic myDVD with my liteon drive

isjka, DVDShrink and Nero are good for DVD Backup and will work with just about any drive and comp youll have no problem there they are very good

Dean
    _
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Hey

This Site Rules[/small]

Last edited: Mar 9, 2004
  6. isjka

isjka Member

LoNeR,