1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Neo12 modchip (V9-V10)

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Krystovar, May 12, 2004.

  1. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    First post here but I've been lurking for a while now. I like this place.

    Anyway, to the point. I'm using a Slidecard/Swap Magic right now for my V10 PS2, but I found this Neo12 modchip which says it will work on V10 and it's the easiest to install yet; all the wires connect to presoldered pads. Does anyone know if it's really that simple to install and does it work as well as they say it does? How recently has this chip come out?

    Just some information, a year or more ago I installed a mod-chip in my PSOne so my soldering skills are at least good enough for that. What do you think about this chip?

    Here's a link to the chip:
    http://www.console24.com/product_info.php/cPath/21/products_id/76
     
  2. ShadowNyt

    ShadowNyt Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Personally I would not touch them - prone to dry joints.

    The Duo2 or the Matrix Infinity would be the better choices in the V10.

    BTW - having soldered in a PS1 would not even begin to prepare you for a PS2 - believe me I solder for a living and I had done PSX's for years before my first PS2... and it took me hours and scared the Hell out of me... you need very good equipment and lighting

    See my sig for recommended irons and solder etc...

    Also the V9/10's are second only to the V3's as the worst for a beginner to solder a chip into.
     
  3. daPhoenix

    daPhoenix Guest

    Ahh come on shadow lets not scare the guy. But it is true, if your starting on a V9/10 system then you are in for a real treat. And I'm talkin razors in your twinkie style treat. LOL!!!
     
  4. ShadowNyt

    ShadowNyt Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lol!

    well... better I scare him than let him jump in unprepared and be left with a dead PS2.

    Being his first PS2 be prepared for the V10 to take you between 3 and 6+ hours.
     
  5. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for the honest answers. I think I'll just stick with the slide card for now.

    I'm not an expert at soldering and I think I would also be so nervous that my hands would shake and I would mess it up even worse.
     
  6. Dr.melee

    Dr.melee Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    shadow said a duo2 or a matrix chip works well on the v10, I would like to now if it works well on a V10 3d because i've heard that a lot of chip for the v10 isn't stable on the new v10 3d
    thanx
     
  7. daPhoenix

    daPhoenix Guest

    I have not installed a Duo2 so I cant tell you how stable it is. But I have installed plenty of Matrix MXL2 and Infinity on V10 systems ane have yet ti have a complaint. They work very well. The main problem was from the DMS3 and that was more of a firmware problem rather than the chip itself. It has since been addressed.
     
  8. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    In case anyone wants an update, I ended up going with a flip-top. On concolesource.com, they have a fliptop for V10 that didn't require any modification to the cover (I didn't have to file down some of the pieces, it was formed in the right shape.)

    It only took me a few minutes to install and it works great.
     
  9. dinamite

    dinamite Guest

    Talking about the v10.....has anyone come across the PAL version console,as I have been informed that the eject tray is designed differently and does not take the slide card.Can anyone confirm this,and what is the way around this one ?
     
  10. Spookymon

    Spookymon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm an ok solderer and I want to try to install a modchip into my v10 ps2. I'm experienced with these things to a degree. I've installed no solder mod chips, and resoldered broken fan connections. This will be my firsst modchip install though. I want to use the chip that has the least work and so far it looks like the Neo 12 wins in that category, with 12 wires and 9 connections that look like they get soldered drectly ro something (can someone please explain this part?). Everyone recommends dms3 or magic, but is their any really good reason i should go witha 32 connection install over a 21 connection install? Has anyone realyl hada a bad expierience with the neo12?
    Thnx in advance
     
  11. ToxicFish

    ToxicFish Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I invested in a neo12 and I'm having a hell of a time getting it to work. First of all, neo12 claims to only use 12 wires. You can see the install schematics yourself and for both v9 and v10, need a 21 wire install... Not too cool. Everything direct boots so far, but I can only get my ps1 backups to run. I've tried every burning app in the book and I still haven?t made a useable DVD back-up. This is getting pricey. As far as making a DVD backup? still sifting through the threads.
     
  12. rspyda

    rspyda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't think it's a problem with your DVD's. From my experience and from reading posts on other forums, the Neo12 is VERY difficult to use.

    I can get DVD game copies to work if I reboot the console several times(sometimes10+!). It seems to be all in the timing, the length of time you press the reset button appears to make all teh difference.

    I also have a problem getting originals to work, The only way around it seems to be to turn the PS2 off with the switch at the back before booting withe game in the drive.

    PS1 games work as per the Neo12 guide.

    Any further tips would be appreciated because when the mod works I can't fault it.
     

Share This Page