1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nero 7 compatible with AnyDVD?

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by sorrow93, Mar 13, 2007.

  1. sorrow93

    sorrow93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I feel like such a dummy but is AnyDVD from SlySoft compatible with Nero 7 Premium Reloaded?
    Does AnyDvd only work with Clone or can I run Any and then attempt to burn using Nero 7 copy-dvd-option?
    I own an older version of Any + Clone
    the main intent is to burn c/p dvds can this be done using the combo?
    any answers appreciated.
     
  2. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hey sorrow93
    Yep AnyDVD is compatible w/ Nero.
    Now here's a little catch though - some of the newer Sony's like Casino Royale, The Holiday, Saw 3, The Grudge 2, Open Season etc. you can use Nero but do movie only.

    Use Recode too - most dvd's are dual layer so you'll need to compress them to fit to a single layer (unless you use dual layer).

    AnyDVD and CloneDVD work best together and handle anything (full back up or movie only) but usually AnyDVD can be used with Shrink, Recode, 1Click etc.

    To find the movies that you may just need to do movie only one w/ Recode set AnyDVD to show media information.
    When you see Sony ARccOS & Puppetlock w/ a ton of bad sectors like 85, 95, 43 etc - this are them.

    editted to add - I'd update AnyDVD and CloneDVD to the latest - buying them gives you free lifetime updates.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2007
  3. sorrow93

    sorrow93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Binkie7
    thankyou for fast reply I am new to dvd burning so I did not even realise Any could be used with Nero.
    thanks for the info it was extremely helpful.
    I assume Any runs in the background and I then open Nero 7.
    I am tempted to invest in the latest any + clone they are superb software
    cheers
     
  4. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You got it sorrow93 - AnyDVD just runs in the background.
    By default it's set to run at startup (unless you changed it). So you'll see a red fox in the system tray - means it's running.

    If no red fox then click double click on the red fox on the desk top to start it.

    Yes AnyDVD and CloneDVD are great - and easy to use.
    Since you bought them even though they're older versions updates should still be free.

    There are other free programs you can use too like DVDFab Decrypter or RipIt4Me.

    Pretty much these are the 'big' 3.

    Post back with any help you need.

    Oh and you're welcome!

    edit: typos :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2007
  5. sorrow93

    sorrow93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Binkie7
    actually I do have *one* question -
    what is the easiest simplist way to check if a dvd is dual-layer because sometimes they don't state it on the package/box?
    it would be great to know and then make arrangements to compress or shrink if need be

     
  6. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    2 easy ways for you.
    Once the disc is in the drive go to 'my computer' then move your cursor over the drive. The size will show. Anything over 4.3 gig will be on a dual layer dvd.

    Or if you have AnyDVD set to show new media info - the size and # of layers will be listed at the top like this -
    Media is a Data DVD.
    Booktype: dvd-rom (version 1), Layers: 2 (opposite)
    Size of first Layer: 1961504 sectors (3831 MBytes)
    Total size: 3893982 sectors (7605 MBytes)
     
  7. sorrow93

    sorrow93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thankyou kindly Binkie7 that is exactly what I wanted to know
    pity AfterDawn doesn't have a helping rate system you'd be top of the group :)
    cheers

     
  8. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You're very welcome sorrow93
    Txs for the nice words too! (they're better than a rating system imho)
     

Share This Page