1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nero and other programs dont work

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by dujo, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have never successfully burned a properly working dvd. It's driving me insane. It really is. I have tried DVD Decryptor and DVD Shrink, I have tried CloneDVD and AnyDVD, I have tried Nero and Nero Re-encode, I have tried DVDXCopy Platinum and Express. All I get from all these are glitchy movies that freeze every 5 seconds. Except Nero, those movies don't even get recognized by the dvdplayer OR my computer. It thinks it's a blank disc! Someone help me!!!
     
  2. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What media are you using?
    What's the specs of your computer?
    Are they original movie disc's you are trying to back-up?
    Give us a little more detailed description of how you go about copying these movies and then myself or others here may be able to help out.
     
  3. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    heh , it's me Bardie, the guy you helped last night.
    Anyway, my computer is a Compaq Presario, 2.5 ghz, 376 mb Ram, 40 gb hard drive. Burner is a I/O Magic Internal DVD +/-RW, Dual format, dual layer. Media is Memorex DVD+R's on a 50-spindle. Yes, the movies I am trying to back up are original copy-righted movies (that I own).
     
  4. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes well, you know my thoughts on Memorex, if I could sent you some money through this computer to get better ones I would!!
    So after all the advice I gave you yesterday you are still having problems??
    I don't think I can offer anymore, I'n not experienced enough to give any more advice on this issue, apart from destroying all your memorex....LOL.
     
  5. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah I think I've tried every possible combination of dvd burning programs out there...
     
  6. pulsar

    pulsar Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I don't think you have enough RAM either! I take it you are using XP as your o/s? Is your firmware up to date? When did you last de-frag?
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2005
  7. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    um, firmware? What's that? Yes, WinXP. I haven't defragged my computer since my last format.
     
  8. pulsar

    pulsar Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Firmware is what your drive needs to run properly, you will have to go to the website of the makers of your burner to get the latest ones.
    XP is notorious for consuming resources. I really think you need to upgrade your RAM. 512 should sort it.
    When was your last format? I de-frag mine almost every night. It sorts out your files etc. No de-frags = loss of PC performance!
     
  9. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I can't afford to upgrade my RAM right now.. I'm probably going to get a new computer before I do that again. I just got the burner, so the firmware should be good but I will check out the site to see if there are upgrades.
    I'll defrag tonight as well.
     
  10. pulsar

    pulsar Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    You DON'T get the firmware with the burner. XP would install drivers to just do the job. Like I said, you have to get them from the manufacturers!
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2005
  11. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh, well thankyou for clearing that up for me :) That could be what is wrong.
     
  12. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm having trouble finding firmware for my burner. The company is I/0 Magic, my ID string is Atapi DVDRW IDE 16x. I cannot find this on their firmware page. ANy help?
     
  13. pulsar

    pulsar Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
  14. TDY

    TDY Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I went to their website and I to could not find a firmware update.Might want to give them a call on it or take it back to where you baught it from and get another one.I see that Company is in Irvine,Ca. not to far to where I live...
     
  15. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I'm afraid the place I bought it from is in another country,,, yours. I'm from Canada, and was in the states for Christmas.
     
  16. TDY

    TDY Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    To bad they don't have an toll free number that you can call.I know it came with Nero,have you used the Info Tool program of Nero and see all the info it has on that drive.If so post it here,just the drive info...
     
  17. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    [​IMG]

    Here ya go, that's what I get.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2005
  18. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well Apparently people on the net are saying it's a BenQ, maybe it's a Benq 1620??
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2005
  19. TDY

    TDY Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can you play a regular movie in it ?
    What dose your Configuration and Hardware info say?
    I see your Firmware version is A07F
     

Share This Page