1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nero Lame Setting

Discussion in 'Audio' started by 10cc, Jan 15, 2007.

1. 10cc

10cc Member

Hello Forum, I'm a newbie that's even newer to MP3 game. I'm getting ready to transfer all my 500 CD's to a more mobile format and then purchase a player. I'm sure what I want will be released this coming year, but that's another discussion. I've be reading as much as possible and found out that Lame is the encoder of choice. I intend to use a higher setting for archiving first. I have been reading about EAC and the set up looks a little confusing and limits me to using one drive. Can I use my nero 6 Ultra with the Powerpack lame encoder with as good as results as EAC. I was also reading about Winlame .It offers good decoding as well as ease of use .Is that the same as Winamp ? Can anyone give me a push in the right direction and any setting advice? There seems to be endless information out there all claiming to be the best. I want the best encoding with good decoding. I guess that would make anyone happy!!!

2. Platy767

Platy767 Regular member

I was waiting to see if anyone else offered an opinion, but looks like I can go first...
    I have used the Massau Lame 3.93 plugin in Nero as well as EAC with Lame 3.97. Both work well for me. I like that EAC will tell you when it thinks there is a problem with the disk. Nero just goes ahead and reads and encodes. I use MP3 only in the car, so it doesn't really matter which process I use. I use Alt Preset Standard in 3.93 and 192kbs VBR in EAC.
    While MP3 is adequate for portability, using a lossy compression for "archiving" may not be a good thing. Have you considered FLAC or (I think it's called) Wavepak?

Hope you get some good answers to your questions.

3. 10cc

10cc Member