1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nero Ultra v7 - Just gives up!!!

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by whftherb, Jan 13, 2007.

  1. whftherb

    whftherb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello all. I have WinXP Pro SP2 all updated, an AMD 3400+ system with one gig of RAM. Nero Ultra v7.x.x is acting totally wierd. By that I mean, starting from the desktop, I load SmartStart up, kill all unused progs out of the systray, select DVD-Video and then add my AVIs, ensure I don't go over 4.7 gig, ask it to >write< to a folder for later burning. I go to bed and awaken to... nothing! The folder I targetted is completely empty. Nero has apparently closed itself because I'm sitting back at the desktop. I've checked for a log, none exists. I've checked for an App Error in "Manage Computer" - it's silent except for a string of goofy errors having to do with the Telephony Service being disabled.

    Anyone else have this experience? I've tried the same AVIs three times now with the same results. Nero just looks like it gives up but doesn't give me any indication why.
     
  2. laddyboy

    laddyboy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Hi.

    Download VSO's ConvertXtoDVD and try using that for the conversion. If it works, the AVI file is likely OK and the problem is with Nero 7. If ConvertX doesn't work, the AVI file is hosed.

    http://www.vso-software.fr/products/convert_x_to_dvd/


    Have you tried uninstalling Nero 7, running the Nero 7 Clean Tool, and reinstalling. You didn't mention which version of Nero 7 you have. Some versions are really buggy. The latest version 7.5.9.0 seems OK.

    http://www.nero.com/nero7/enu/Nero7_CleanTool.html

    http://www.nero.com/nero7/enu/nero7-up.php
     
  3. whftherb

    whftherb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK, this advice is what I was looking for. Nothing beats experience like experience. I will go and do as you've suggested.

    Thanks ever so much.
     
  4. laddyboy

    laddyboy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You're welcome. Let us know how you make out.
     
  5. whftherb

    whftherb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK, must've been something corrupted in the older Nero. I had version 7.2.1.x (pretty old, eh?). I upgraded to version 7.5.9.0. Am now getting all the way through the transcoding process with good results! Thanks people.
     

Share This Page