1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nero v6.3.1.6. and DVD-Rs and DVD+Rs

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Dsn, Mar 26, 2004.

  1. Dsn

    Dsn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay.. i gave Nero another chance....
    it wrote to a DVD+R just fine...
    all went well.....
    but when ever i put in a DVD-R...
    i get a message that the disc is not empty....
    and that i should put in one that is empty...
    i am using the same brand as the DVD+Rs..
    and all that i have tried are brand new...
    right out of the plastic sleve......

    has anyone else come across this problem....
    can anyone Please tell me what i need to do????
    Using DVD+Rs is fine....
    but i want to be able to use both....
    i have now tried any RWs....

    Inspiron 5100 LapTop...
    NEC DVD+RW ND5100
    Windows XP Home /w SP1
    512meg Memory
    40gig HD
    all Microsoft Updates...

    Thanks to all for their time and help...

    David
     
  2. ash010673

    ash010673 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Your DVD writer isn't compatable with DVD-R
     
  3. goodt

    goodt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Note the + sign in NEC DVD+RW ND5100 and not a - or a +/-.
     
  4. Dsn

    Dsn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Never Mind.....

    Dell said they sent me a Dual DVD writer...
    but i just found out that the ND-5100A is
    DVD+R and DVD+RW only....

    anyone have a nail i can bite through...???

    So.. now my question is..
    How well to DVD+Rs work with DVD BackUps...
    how well do they play...

    Thanks to everyone!!!!

    David
     
  5. woof811

    woof811 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you will have no problems using dvd+r for all your backups , all i would advise is to use good quality discs , then no chance of ant coasters.
     
  6. viper6699

    viper6699 Guest

    i've read, read and read again everything i've found on here regarding the diference between +r and -r media and i still aint got an answer. I'm with woof811 on this one........just make sure you dont try to go too cheap on the blanks.......can work out expensive in the end
     
  7. safc_66

    safc_66 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Dsn- i've been using + media for about a year now. My burner was the NEC ND1100A. I've had no problems in a variety of standalone players, including ps2's (over version 4 of course).You'll be fine with the +r's mate. I recently (yesterday) upgraded to a Pioneer 107 dual format burner, for no other reason than having a liking for shiny new things, lol, plus the fact that the choice of +r media in shops here in UK was shite, to say the least, and -r media is more freely available and a bit cheaper, too. happy burning.

    Dene
     

Share This Page