1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nero Vision Express won't complete the job

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by lon, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. lon

    lon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I hada job loaded into Nero Vision: a file which was too big for
    regualr dvd.

    Nero reported that it could put the file on long play and complete the
    job and burn to standard dvd.



    As the burn process started the program reported that it would take
    129 hours and 17 minutes (whatevs) which I knew was crazy.

    The burn process was slow but it did progress and so I let it go unattended.

    When I got back the preview window was closed and the program had
    stopped about half way through.

    No error report was issued.

    What can I do about this?

    The only alternative I can see is to buy some dual layer disks.
    The dual layer disks are hugely expensive for me especially if I figure that a run will stop midway through.


    This file spec is [*filename*].avi 700 mb.

    I tried to run DVD shrink on it but I couldn't get it to load.


    Please suggest help for Vision Express and alternatives.
     
  2. zeiram

    zeiram Guest

  3. lon

    lon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Since last writing I got one version of the job to go through
    but had another coaster today after I used Nero to shorten it and
    add some chapters.

    The error after only a few minutes of burn time was:

    Unable to prepapre data for recording: Failed to get disk content.

    Well I was recording from Nero Vision express a freshly edited file.

    I save the error report. let me know about posting it.

    Right now I don't know if I'm in error or it's the program or
    my hardware isn't up to the job.

    I'll check out the encoder you mentioned. I must have missed your reply earlier.

     
  4. zeiram

    zeiram Guest

    it might be worth your while to get avicodec from the web.Its a free download.Basically load your avi file into it and it will give you the properties of your file.Just highlight each line and copy and paste them into your next post
     
  5. lon

    lon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How about Gspot?

    I don't know how to copy and paste the info to Afterdawn though. Print screen shots are a mystery to me.

    Well yesterday I got a vob set made of the job. The tso folder
    has multiple files but I can't load them into Nero for burning.

    This has always confused me.


    I never have difficulties with burning a single avi but the
    multiple vob files/folder cannot be loaded.


    I did learn how to trim the file though. I was using the index as a
    slider rather than the the tool described in the manual.


    Tell me which descriptions are needed from Gspot.

     
  6. zeiram

    zeiram Guest

    i didnt say anything about a print screen.I said hilight each line and then copy and paste them into your next post.Imagine as if its a text document and you are copying And pasteing from one document to another.In this case you are copying from the program and pasteing into the text document which is your AD reply
     
  7. lon

    lon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok I'll try it your way after i get avicodec (whatevs) up there.

    Since last post I was able to get a version of this job out by
    doing 2 edits. So I now have 2 pieces which, for this isn't
    all that bad.

    What I'm wondering is why the chapters and such that I added to
    an edit (which was not out of range for size) would not burn.

    I made sure that no other progs were running and it still hung up
    with that same error... unable to prepare data for recording.

    So 2 edits with no chaptering burned ok. One edit with chaptering
    within a size range for standard dvd didn't.

     
  8. lon

    lon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    From avicodec:


    Well something is not working right:


    A copy from Avicodec to the 'clipboard', returning to Afterdawn and
    selecting edit/paste from the Firefox taskbar does not give any result.

    I'll see if I can put in notepad or something.
     
  9. zeiram

    zeiram Guest

    heres an example:

    File : 91 MB (91 MB), duration: 0:19:54, type: AVI, 1 audio stream(s), quality: 27 %

    Video : 77 MB, 547 Kbps, 25.0 fps, 432*320 (4:3), DIV3 = DivX v3 ;-) MPEG-4 (Low-Motion), Unsupported

    Audio : 13.64 MB, 95 Kbps, 44100 Hz, 2 channels, 0x55 = MPEG Layer-3, Supported
     
  10. lon

    lon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I noticed something while going through this: the file content
    made is only 3 mb or something meaning that the original file
    will ( or will not ) give the details of burning that specific job
    that want to hang. Is that 3 mb item a control file to instruct on chapters and such? That seems to be where the problem is.

    I can copy out by hand the avicodec info.


     
  11. zeiram

    zeiram Guest

    if its only 3 mb that seems to indicate an issue with the file
     
  12. lon

    lon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have successfully edited and chaptered avi's and such.

    Whenever I see that the content successfully loads to the
    'add files' I figure everything is going ok.

    Maybe I am not saving to file correctly?
     

Share This Page