1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NeroVision Express 2 Re-Encoding MPEG-2 complian files?

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by ccampbell, Sep 16, 2004.

1. ccampbell

ccampbell Regular member

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting an issue instead of responding to them.

'Virgin' territory for me. :) But to get to the point...

I've seen a number of post's where users are indicating the NeroVision Express software is re-Encoding MPEG-2 files created with TMPGEnc and other Similar encoders.

I've converted an AVI file that was 6gig in size to MPEG-2 format using the TMPGEnc and other encoders, and then used NeroVision Express 2.1.2.18 to create a DVD from this content. I was hoping to duplicate the issues reported so we can address them. However, I am finding that our software is not re-encoding the files as indicated by a few users.

I used a few of our competitors software in the same process, and I have found that in most cases our software takes even less time.

For example:

Using the latest MyDVD from Sonic I created a DVD-Video disc from the MPEG-2 file created with TMPGEnc, and it took 18mins for the building and encoding process before a burn began.

Whereas, using the NVE 2.1.2.18 software and this same MPEG-2 file created with TMPGEnc, it took 11mins for the building and encoding process before a burn began.

From the logs generated by both programs, I did see Menus were encoded, and the Audio Track was encoded, but not the video portion.

The only times I did see re-encoding going on by any of the programs is when changes were made to the Video. Meaning Transistions added, audio tracks added, Motion Menus, etc. And even then only those segements of the video modified were re-encoded not the whole file.