1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nerovision with Vista problem

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by radiospy, Mar 9, 2007.

  1. radiospy

    radiospy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Greetings all.
    This is my very first post so I am hoping that somebody may have the answer I am looking for. I installed Vista last week and all went well. I have made a dual boot system with XP as my second operating system.
    The only problem I appear to have is when using Nerovision 4 in Nero 7 Enchanced. It takes ages to transcode the titles now. Where as in XP it really zooms through For example one hour of transcoding in XP takes about 12 minutes. The same in Vista can take at least 2 hours. Its strange as when I boot to XP and repeat the operation it all works super.
    Any ideas anybody?
    Cheers
     
  2. laddyboy

    laddyboy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Are you using the latest version of Nero 7? Some of the earlier Nero 7 versions weren't especially compatable with Vista as I recall.
     
  3. radiospy

    radiospy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am using nerovision 4.9.018, I believe this is the latest version.
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I would only be able to guess about some possibilities.

    First, maybe the codecs are a little different.

    The IDE controller drivers and other drivers may not be specialized for your system and don't run as well.

    Maybe Vista handles your processor differently, or isn't making maximum use of it. Anything running you could shut down, like the sidebar?

    Vista also offloads some tasks to the video card processor. Possibly that little trick could effect your times.

    Beside that, 12 minutes seems like pretty fast to transcode 1 hour!! I don't have Nero on my Vista right now, but I might later and I will do some test runs.

     
  5. radiospy

    radiospy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks Saltgrass, please keep me updated with your progress. It is a bit strange but i will close the sidebar and try again.
     
  6. radiospy

    radiospy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    another thing I have noticed is that if I have a 10 minute clip it takes 20 minutes to encode. very strange.
     
  7. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Well, since you are encoding the exact same files on 2 different operating systems, you might compare the NeroHistory logs for each system. Maybe you might see something.

    If you want, send them to me in a PM and I will check. We could post any results later.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2007
  8. radiospy

    radiospy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have saved the burn log from XP and Vista.
    If you explain how I can PM you I will be happy to do so.
     
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You PM by clicking on the little head on the upper right of my posts.
     

Share This Page