1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Network adapter help...

Discussion in 'PS2' started by PointGod, Feb 23, 2005.

  1. PointGod

    PointGod Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a network adapter, and i use a router to connect to the internet, now if i sold my adapter to my friend, which doesnt have a router, where would he plug the ethernet cord into??? (he has internet,lol)
     
  2. PointGod

    PointGod Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  3. PointGod

    PointGod Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  4. AtariBorn

    AtariBorn Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It depends on how your friend's setup is.

    If he/she has dial-up (phone line)he should plug a standard phone cord into a wall jack.

    If he/she has a Cable/DSL Modem, he should plug one end of an ethernet cable (CAT V/RJ45) into the back of the modem (PC) and the other end into the PS2 Broadband Adaptor.

    If he/she has an ethernet hub (home network), then one end of an ethernet cable should be connected to the PS2 Broadband Adaptor and the other end into an available port on the hub.
     
  5. PointGod

    PointGod Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well he has sympatico, so i guess DSL, so he puts it in the modem? i thought the modem only has 1 slot for ethernet.... huh
     
  6. LILfeatha

    LILfeatha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ya, he would need some sort of splitter or a hub, go to a local electronics store, should be pretty cheap..

    LILfeatha
     
  7. WEStar

    WEStar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    well, if he can live with going either the ps2 online or the pc online (not both at the same time) then he can just plug the modem straight to the network adapter like atari said. Or here's another option, he can install a second NIC in his PC and use ICS (internet connection sharing) to make his pc share the connection but, if you go this route you do need a little bit of networking knowledge (or a good tutorial that gives you instructions well)
     
  8. mod155

    mod155 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i need some help. i have one of the new ps2's (slimline) and dial-up. i want to try the ps2 online thing but i have no clue how to do it. do i just plug the phoneline into the wall and go? any help is appreciated, thx. -mod
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2005
  9. superstui

    superstui Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    do you have a network adaptor?
     
  10. NINVIN21

    NINVIN21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hello you dont need a network adapter with the slim model.
    I trying to find out if I can play ethernet games!
    Is dial-up ethernet? I have dial up and want to play online
    how about a list of these old games?
    i guess all the big time gamers have broadband now
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2005
  11. NINVIN21

    NINVIN21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Anybody out there,were are all the online gamers
     
  12. serranoX3

    serranoX3 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok what yall have to do is, Connect the end of ethernet cable to PS2 net adaptor, and the other end to the Broadband modem,(remember to power cycle the modem). And then you put in the ps2 network adapter start up disc and select automatic configuration. And you done.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2005
  13. Daniel_G

    Daniel_G Guest

    @ Ninvin : In case you haven't figured it out yet:No, Dial up is NOT ethernet, only broadband = ethernet, so you'll need broadband (which is the case for practically all online games, so either get a dsl/adsl/cable connection, or give up on online play).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 5, 2005
  14. nohelpme

    nohelpme Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    This thread is just funny...sorry but had to say it sorry
     

Share This Page