1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networking!

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by PYF, May 17, 2007.

  1. PYF

    PYF Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I recently bought a crossover firewire cable to connect 2 home pc's so that i can transfer files between the two. I turned on file sharing for both and gave them same network name. On my main computer my shared files come up on "My local network" and i can see my computer on "workgroup computers".

    However, on my other comp, none of the shared files are coming up on "My local network" and nothing comes up on workgroup comps.

    Anyways, i tried anyway, i linked both comps together and they both recognised the firewire cable however when i tried to access my main computer on the 2nd comp it said "You might not have permission etc.". Ive been playing around a lot i even did "set up a small home of office network" but still i have no success.

    Please help me through this. Many thanks.
     
  2. borhan9

    borhan9 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Is your workgroup name the same on both computers. and then see if that changes anything also make another shared folder and see if that is seen or not,

    btw

    good to see another persian here :)
     
  3. PYF

    PYF Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey thanks man good to see another persian too..however it still doesnt work i gave them the same name and added another shared folder but the other computer (not my main one) still does not have anything on the local network. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  4. borhan9

    borhan9 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    When you go to toy network and see the networked computers does your computer also come up in the networked computers attached to that network, If not you may need to change the computer name to something else so the network does not have any conflict with it.
     
  5. PYF

    PYF Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ive changed it so many times to unique names but still not working. Lol i purchased the crossover for nothing. Anything i do doesnt make any file or folder come up on the local network or workgroup computers.
     
  6. borhan9

    borhan9 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Why dont you just get a wireless card and connect it via that way. Im really running out of ideas u may just have to do a fresh install if you have a problem after installing a wireless card if you wish to do so.
     
  7. club42

    club42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Do you have a firewall thats blocking the other computers IP.
     
  8. PYF

    PYF Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have norton antivirus on both comps but im not sure if that is causing it. If it is how do i go about doing it?

    And if it isnt any other suggestions?

    Thanks a lot so far borhan9 and club 42.
     
  9. borhan9

    borhan9 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    If you are using Nortons Internet Security u have to make sure all the network settings are the same as in the dns server and ip addresses.
     

Share This Page