1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new crystal chip installed (professionaly), issues

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by mlefactor, Jun 10, 2007.

  1. mlefactor

    mlefactor Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just got my v9 back with a CC 2.0SLE installed.

    It worked once, then I (tried?) to flash it with the latest firmware, then I ran a backup successfully.

    Turned it off.. came back in a few hours, turned it on, and it only boots the sony screen.

    I tried "reset" boot with the firmware .bin/.cue disk in the drive. Maybe I'm not hitting "reset" 3 times correctly (the button above eject, right?) but I tried a lot of variants, and it sure doesn't seem to work.

    I've read that the firmware upgrade disk should be able to boot anyway, but I get the red "please insert a valid PS2 disk".

    Can you folks offer some suggestions? I've read a ton and this doesn't seem to be covered.
     
  2. yojacks

    yojacks Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    did u get this fixed? if not then reformat the dffs then reinstall the firmware in recovery mode i think tha's hitting the reset button 6 times 1 second apart from each reset tap. get jones23 hacked firmware at psx-scene.com. hope this helps.
     
  3. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Recovery Mode: Turn the PS2 on the with Crystal Chip Firmware and BootManager CD in the drive. Wait a second. Reset. Wait a second. Reset.

    If that dosen't work try Resetting 3 times .
     
  4. mlefactor

    mlefactor Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, thanks. I eventually got this fixed. Didn't know, and never found in all kinds of FAQs and docs, that having the sony formatted hard drive plugged in would play hell with the mod chip.

    Removed it for shipping, and as a last ditch effort before sending it back to the guy who modded it (who REALLY did NOT want it back to fix, but I basically didn't care. That's why I paid for a service), I found out the hard way that the hard drive made a difference.

    Confirmed with the modder. Works like a champ now. Grrr.
     
  5. yojacks

    yojacks Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Good to hear that have fun with your CC.
     

Share This Page