1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new hdd

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by ryan1515, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. ryan1515

    ryan1515 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  2. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    is it formatted in FAT32? That filesystem only supports maximum partition size of 32 MB. If that is the case, you'll need reformat the disk to NTFS.

     
  3. chubbyInc

    chubbyInc Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    did you partition the drive? maybe you have 31GB with OS and 129GB with nothing right now.

    You can go back into the windows setup with your windows DVD and see what went wrong.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check the jumper on back of drive as most likely set to 32gig capacity instead of 160gig capacity. check top of drive for that info.
     
  5. ryan1515

    ryan1515 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the jumper is set to master
     

Share This Page