1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New loader coming...

Discussion in 'Nintendo Gamecube - General discussion' started by shinji2k3, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. shinji2k3

    shinji2k3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I got this info from another gamecube forum, s3 is making a new loader with many new features including 100mb Full Duplex Support!!!! I nabbed a copy and tested it out with the following games, its a "preview" right now, not completely done but it has major improvements.

    MGS: Twin Snakes, game isnt so choppy anymore, still annoying but it works a lil better.

    F-Zero: Game runs 100% in game now, no choppyness when a ton of shit happens

    tried some others but forgot what they were. Dont get ur hopes too high, its still buggy and games still have lag issues, but its getting better... heres the NFO

    __:_ __/\__ _:__
    \ |//(>> * S T A R C U B E * \ / <<)\\| /
    \| __/\__ |/
    | / \ /__/\__ |
    | \ /(______. / \ / |
    |___________)\____\ |____/(__________ _______:_______:__
    |\ ____/_____ ______\____ | ._ /
    _:_\______. | \| _. : |/ /
    / \| | | \| . ___ |\ \
    / _._________ | |\ ______|___/ | \__ \
    )/ : \_______|_______: \_______/ |_______| / \
    / | \ . /\ \ \
    ______:_________)\ _______.__________________/__________\_____ \_)\
    / /______: : ._ / ._ / /
    / |\_______/_ | | |/ / |/ /_____/
    \ |/ / | | |\ \ /_______/
    \ /_________/___ |_______|/ / _________ \ |
    \_____._____/\_/ \/: / ______/\__/ )/ |
    : . \( / |
    | \ proudly presents |
    | |
    | |
    (1)>> <> Gamecube Simulator Preview Edition <> <<)
    | |
    | |
    | Origin...: USA NTSC Filename...: S3.GCSIM.RAR |
    | Released.: 17, Nov, 2004 GOD / Rars.: 1 / 0x50MB |
    | Console..: GAMECUBE Format.....: .ISO |
    | Source...: **/**** Supply.....: **/**** |
    | Company..: Team Starcube Store Date.: ****** |
    | |
    | |
    | |
    (2)>> Game Info: <<)
    | |
    | Preview edition of our upcoming GC Simulator - the next |
    | generation GameCube loader. This preview edition is |
    | built with Metroid Prime 2 in mind. |
    | Features: |
    | Much higher compatibility |
    | Faster Loader times |
    | 100mbit mode support |
    | No known memory card issues |
    | |
    | |
    (3)>> Release Notes: <<)
    | |
    | Set your PC IP address to 192.168.1.100 |
    | Set your NGC IP address to 192.168.1.32 |
    | Start the exe and select the NGC image to play |
    | Load dol through PSO with psoload/psul |
    | Select the BBA speed with left and right on the D pad |
    | and press start. |
    | Enjoy Metriod Prime 2, Mario Tennis, and possibly alot |
    | of great gamecube games ^_^ |
    | |
    | To all gui peeps, make sure you give credit to where it |
    | belongs, don't blame us if your worthless gui causes |
    | problems. |
    | http://www.thepetitionsite.com/takeaction/562838682 |
    | Stop bitching :> |
    | |
    | |
     
  2. Phil2000

    Phil2000 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I try the loader and I had strange result. If I use the 100mb, the computer would only stream about 100kb/s. If I use the 10mb, the computer would stream the normal speed about 1.5mb/s. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  3. ProStyl3

    ProStyl3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm not suprised by these news this loader is much better than the older ones mostly in playing the cutscenes compatability is better and the 100mb mode does enhance the speed quite a bit.
     
  4. philipman

    philipman Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    were do you get this?
     
  5. philipman

    philipman Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Would most games work with this
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2004
  6. Kafluke

    Kafluke Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    dude, checked all the usual places and can't find it. Do you have a link?
     
  7. StoneRain

    StoneRain Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm guessing PSO+ is not supported yet?
     
  8. ProStyl3

    ProStyl3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Most games do work with it now and much better speed for ingame. For example Budokia works nearly perfect but wouldn't make it to the main menu with the old loaders.

    Link- http://gchack.free.fr/utils/loader/s3-gcsim.zip
    Site- http://gchack.free.fr

    The problem with PSO+ is not because of this loader but because of PSOload.

    NOTE- Without 100mb mode it will not seem much better
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2004
  9. StoneRain

    StoneRain Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    kind of..
    the problem is there are not unlimited copies of PSO v1.1 around. so the only thing left is PSO+. Then if the loader doesnt support PSO+, it is a problem.

    Really it is great work modding the original to run at 100mbit, but I think lots of people would like to see PSO+ work too.

    If they know how to mod the original PSOLoad so well, they should be able to put in a mod for the new ports PSO+ uses no problem. Then find the new encryption key and bam, it should be fixed. (if you use a second IP that is not on the same class A net work.)
     
  10. grmbl

    grmbl Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    w00t, they're finally making progress it seems... Hope the 100Mb feature works like it should be.
    Can't try it out now, switched my cube with my brothers xbox for a while (until metroid prime 2 is released!).

    grtz

    ps: joy joy!
     
  11. SuperTed

    SuperTed Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sorry guys!
    didn't read the NFO.

    after reading the NFO my reply is:
    THIS IS GONNA BE COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL!!!
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2004
  12. ProStyl3

    ProStyl3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Tried out almost all my games I have alot all booted almost all worked near perfect this is so awesome. Remeber when I told you all their was a team making a new loader well here it is(Now you understand why I didn't tell you who was making it).

    EDIT: Alot of people are having problems with 100mb mode if you follow the tutorial it should work perfect. It does for me and I'm running through a router.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2004
  13. grmbl

    grmbl Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    when will the official loader/simulator be released...
    and stop teasing me guys, have to wait a few more days to get my cube back!
     
  14. Phil2000

    Phil2000 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What tutorial is that? Are you using PSUL or PSOload? Both seem to make it upload really slow (~ 100kb/s) when using the 100mbs full/half duplex. BTW I am using a router.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2004
  15. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Are you using a router? I was able to get this new loader to work extremely well at 100Mbit full-duplex on my machine using the crossover cable method. A few games wouldn't work but others performed noticably better. It might also be worth mentioning that I'm using 3Com 3C905C-TX NICs on the PC side.
     
  16. L-Burna

    L-Burna Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I am using the same thing crossover cable with Linsys NIC card though.I can see a difference in this loader,but progress seems to progressing a little still not 100% playable with all games yet.It would be cool to see another method for users that can't buy the PSO and BBA adapter,but probably won't be out for quite some time I think.
     
  17. Epak

    Epak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, I`ve already asked this on a another forum, but I didn`t get any help there. So this is how I am doing it:

    1. Network card speed to 100 full duplex
    2. open the simulator exe and choose a game
    3. put PSOload ready for the .dol loading
    4. start a online game in PSO

    Then comes the problems: on the warp hole when the GC is trying to connect to the server, comes this connection failure "make sure your cables are connected bla bla bla"

    What am I doing wrong, the IP adresses are ok, it works when I put the speed to 10 HD from my network card.
    I`m not using phoenix for this, cause it seems that it isn`t even able to load the .dol, the load button doesn`t do anything...

    Please I need serious help!
     
  18. ssjowowo

    ssjowowo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Epak you can't set your nic to 100 mbits from the start because pso starts using the bba with 10 mbits..so you have to set the nic speed to auto mode so that when you change the speed from the gamecube side, your nic will automatically switch to 100 mbits
     
  19. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yes, this seems to be the case. It would appear that PSO is still resettting the NIC backup to 10Mbit and that the loader just allows you to change it again once it successfully streams to the Gamecube. For best results, the NIC in the PC should be configured for automatic media/speed detection.
     
  20. Epak

    Epak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok I got it to work in auto detect mode, but when I choose one of the 100 mbit options in the loader it just hangs there, it doesn`t change the speed. I guess I have to get a new network card then... Thanks for the help though.
     

Share This Page