1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New modchip for Gamecube! Ripper III

Discussion in 'Nintendo Gamecube - General discussion' started by Quezacotl, Mar 4, 2005.

  1. Quezacotl

    Quezacotl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    04.03.2005
    We have been a bit quiet lately but this was only the silence before the storm. We are proud to present to you our latest development: RIPPER GC. A brand new modchip for the Gamecube. Ripper-GC boots backups and importgames in a very easy way. No PC-Connection is required. Installationdiagrams, specs and more information is to follow very soon. Get in touch with your local distributors to make sure to be one of the first to have the very hot RIPPER-GC in your hands. First sales will start in the middle of the next week. Here are first pictures and you will recognize the genuine ripper-shape of modchips.
    [​IMG]


    from: http://www.ripper3.com/r3-news.htm
     
  2. indienemo

    indienemo Guest

    Sounds like a shitty cash in on the viper
     
  3. Kafluke

    Kafluke Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I sure hope that you don't have to solder wires onto all those contacts. That looks a lot like my matrix infinity chip for my ps2 and that was NOT a fun chip to install (22 wires)
     
  4. molton

    molton Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I confirmed it, it is a cheap knockoff, the price better be a lot less than the viper, especially looking like the pc board was salvaged from another project too, what is with that slot thing? anyway, I checked out the difference between the ACTEL ex256 and the ProAsic Plus, the viper uses the lowest end model of the pro Asic plus, but it still kicks the crap out of the ex256.

    Granted this doesn't mean anything, the viper team saying they used the pro asic plus to avoid cheap knockoffs could've been extremely insightful or just good marketing.

    here's some excerpts from Actel's PDF documents

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The stats don't exacly match up, but 75,000 maximum system gates looks much better than 12,000
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2005
  5. indienemo

    indienemo Guest

    OMG! this is like porn for geeks! j/k
     
  6. Quezacotl

    Quezacotl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    at that picture on their site i see that you only need to solder 7 wires.
     
  7. ssjowowo

    ssjowowo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ripper gc uses the same board as ripperIII for the ps2. they are the same guys who did the ps2 ripper. also you don't have to solder all the wires. if i'm right it uses as many wires as viper(including the lid sensor). also ripper doesn't have un upgradable bios, that's why it will be cheaper. it will just do the job(+playing imports). there are words for yet another chip in a months time that is said to require no original disc to boot up. that will be interesting
     
  8. soccerboi

    soccerboi Guest

    The more modchips the better! I wonder if this will be any cheaper than the Viper GC.
     
  9. indienemo

    indienemo Guest

    Weve already said here that it will be cheaper than the viper, read before you post mate.
     

Share This Page