1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new slim ps2 wont play back up copies

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Ps2Lifer, Dec 20, 2004.

  1. Ps2Lifer

    Ps2Lifer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i just got "game x copy" from 321 studios and backed up a copy of one of my new games but my new slim ps2 wont play it can anyone help?
     
  2. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Do you have a modchip or Swap Magic?
     
  3. Ps2Lifer

    Ps2Lifer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no do i need a mod chip? i was under the imperssion that all i had to do was to make a copy and it could be played on any stock ps2 system. like the box says,
    "Your copy works just like the original" yeah right!
     
  4. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Nope, playing your backups on a ps2 requires a modchip or a Swap method to play them. But, your copy will run just like the real game, just doesn't load the same way, heh.
     
  5. humzaSM

    humzaSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    do u need the swap magic dvd to play a ps2 dvd backup on a slim ps2 with out the slide card.
     
  6. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Note that I went to the Game X Copy website and read the fine print only to find that they claim no modchip is needed if you intend to use your backup copy in a PC using some sort of emulator that doesn't work yet. They go on to state that if you intend to use your PS2 backup copy in a PS2 you will need to modify the PS2 in some way (modchip, Swap Magic, etc.)
     
  7. Ps2Lifer

    Ps2Lifer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    could you provide me a link to the website,
    thanx.
     

Share This Page