1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to downloading ps2 games.... HELP!!

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by naj94, Jul 8, 2007.

  1. naj94

    naj94 Guest

    well i never thought i could get ps2 games on to a cd-r and play it on the ps2 i always thought it was a dvd i had to use.
    Can someone give me step by step instructions on how to....... where to...... PLease thanks.

    PS my ps2 is the old shape the acual Playstation2 Not the slimline PS2 thanks to those who takes notice of this post
     
  2. immortal5

    immortal5 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If the ps2 game is a cd disc just just nero Cd copy or clone cd and make an exact copy of the game. Of course it's always better to burn an image on your hard drive first then burn the image from the hard drive.
     
  3. SkyyKiing

    SkyyKiing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    its not possible to burn a game on a cd-r. the games are jus to big! if you've found a way then u must be god..((o_o))
     
  4. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Some games are on cd,and some on dvd
    and its even possible to put some games that are on dvd onto cd,these are called dvd-rips
     
  5. naj94

    naj94 Guest

    Yeah Thanks Hursty. So what your saying is all i have to do is burn it to cd and it should work?

    If it is then would it work on the old fat ps2?

    Thanks
     
  6. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    it all depends on the game whether it can be burnt on cd,it depends what format it is originally
    And it would only work if your ps2 is modified to boot copied games anyway
     
  7. phoenix35

    phoenix35 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    can u tell me how to burn adownloaded ps2 game i got an iso file but i dont know how to burn them i mean burn only the iso file or ectrack it and then burn that or ectrack and bur it all the ectrack and the iso iam so confused oh and is there aserten order u need to do???
     
  8. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Best way for an ISO is to get DVD Decrypter. Follow the guide (how to backup PS2 games) and you can download it there.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2007
  9. phoenix35

    phoenix35 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i alredy got the game on my com all i need to know which files i burn only the iso file or extrack it and put that on the dvd or both????
     
  10. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You only need to burn the ISO, you don't need to extract it.
     
  11. phoenix35

    phoenix35 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok thx XD
     
  12. wygz

    wygz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How about if i'm done burning the ISO FILE, do i need to use SWAP MAGIC CD to play the cd? thanks!
     
  13. phoenix35

    phoenix35 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    iam very new to the backup games(burned) i heard u need a mod chip (which iama get soon) or swap magic cd (whatever that is)
     
  14. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well first welcome to the forums. Secondly a bit of advice, try to read as much as you can. As Hursty pointed out above yes in order to play backups you need to mod your PS2 in some manner, either by chip, or by swap magic.
    Check my signature for the quick links- It will help you out a lot and so should the Before Posting link.
    There is lots of great info. If you click my member name it also has links to programs and guides.
    If you are thinking of modchip then teammodders is an excellent choice.
    Hope this helps you out a bit, if any more problems please ask.
     
  15. phoenix35

    phoenix35 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok i got a question what is better to have swap magic or a mod chip? because i heard people saying mod chips can break ur ps2 or sumething
     
  16. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I have not heard that about modchips breaking your PS2. It is best to have someone like teammodders, they are highly recommended to add the chip for you, unless you are skilled or sure of yourself.
    What version PS2 do you have?
    Steimy says it well here in what to get and I agree.
    Seeing you already have a PS2 its just a matter of what modding to choose.
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/533299
     
  17. phoenix35

    phoenix35 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i clicked ur name and read an unofficial guide and looks like i got av4 or av9 cuz my model is no.xxxx-50004 and that means i got av9 but in the guide it sed if i got a warning on my ps2 then its av4 so i dont know what is it av4 or v9 XD iam thinking of buingthe matrix infinity or crystal chips they look like the best ones u can buy....
     
  18. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    SCPH-50004, that is a V9 PS2 probably if you live in the USA. Another way to find out if its a v9/v10 start up PS2 with no game in it, press triangle and check dvd driver version
    dvd ver 3.00 = v9 & dvd ver 3.02 (U) = v10
     
  19. phoenix35

    phoenix35 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    lol i got some wierd ass ps2 it says i got a v 3.02E oh and my ps2 is the sliver Ver.

    so my ps2 is aeurope made v10???
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2007

Share This Page