1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new to psp .

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by Thomaslht, Jan 15, 2007.

  1. Thomaslht

    Thomaslht Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok, i got a psp from a friend a few days ago. unfortunetly he upgraded it to 3.03 and as you all know you cant play iso's on it. So I am going to pull off the old switcharoo lol. I am going to buy a new psp at wal-mart then take the old one back. what version is a new psp and what will I have to do to be able to play iso's?
     
  2. ThisDude

    ThisDude Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    first of all u shouldn't be doin tht, u might get caught. but if u still insist then go ahead.

    well the version depends but a recommend a psp version 1.50-2.80
    most recommend a 1.50 because u won't hav to downgrade.

    then after ur psp is 1.50 either get devhook or some sort of loader to load isos

    or get dark alex's custom fw.

     
  3. gti007

    gti007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    don't do that, they will check the serial number against the recipet, believe me you don't want them to find out when you are doing that
     
  4. bongguru

    bongguru Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Start by getting a psp that you can downgrade before starting with iso's,There are only Downgrader's for firmware's up to 2.80.As for a new psp well it depends on how long it has been sitting on the shelf at whatever store you go to,As we know Sony is now up to 3.03 but i just bought 2 psp's at xmas from Argos one was 2.60 the other was 2.71,i presume that they had been in the store for a while.The psp boxes have lettered code's on the sticker.

    no letter = 1.0 (Japanese Release) 1.5 (North-American release) confirmed
    A = 1.5 confirmed
    B = 1.51 confirmed
    C = 1.52 confirmed
    D = 1.52 confirmed
    E = 1.52 confirmed
    F = 2.0 confirmed
    G = 2.01 confirmed
    H = 2.50 confirmed
    I = 2.60 confirmed
    J = 2.70 unconfirmed
    K = 2.71 confirmed
    L = 2.81 confirmed
    Look for the letter on the white sticker on the side of the psp box.Mine had "WS259 I",Hope this helps.
     
  5. Thomaslht

    Thomaslht Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  6. gti007

    gti007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    that's right, and wal-mart units all have the letter "L" which it's no good anyways, i checked last week while i was there...
     
  7. Thomaslht

    Thomaslht Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well, it wont hurt to see what they have anyway
     
  8. simpsim1

    simpsim1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @bonguru, I'm thinking that your 2.60 model was indeed sitting in store for a while. That version was outdated quite some time ago. I got mine just before Xmas 2005 and it had 2.60 on it then LOL.

    Basically, the big stores will rotate and shift stock often, so it's very rare you end up with one that old. That said, well done to anyone who finds the old versions.
     
  9. shadow345

    shadow345 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    does 1.5 fw need devhook?
     
  10. gti007

    gti007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    upgrade to 3.02OE-A and 3.02OE-B than 3.03OE-A and 3.03OE-B
     
  11. bongguru

    bongguru Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I live in the back of beyond in Scotland,Argos had the Giga pack on offer..must have been gathering dust..lol,When i seen that it was a 2.60 i went back and got another but that was 2.71,They are both now on 3.03OE-B and happy with their new owners. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2007
  12. wolfcav92

    wolfcav92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i had an old psp that had 2.6 originally then the laser screwed up on it 4 months after i bought it it was under warranty so i called sony they had me send it in. i just got the replacement today it is a refurbished unit but it has 3.01 on it is there a way i can find out if it had an older version on it that i can downgrade it to??
     
  13. simpsim1

    simpsim1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    gti007 you can actually upgrade straight from 1.50 to 3.03oe-a then to 3.03oe-b without having to touch the 3.02 versions. That's what I did.
     
  14. wolfcav92

    wolfcav92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the reason i wanted to downgrade to 1.5 is that i found a universal remote software i can download for psp off of psp blender but it says it only works on vers. 1.5
     
  15. wolfcav92

    wolfcav92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the developer is massa84
     
  16. Smurff

    Smurff Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    the 3.01 version is not downgradable.

    so ur stuck w/ that until a downgrader comes out, unless u can find someone to swap it. (the whole psp)
     
  17. wolfcav92

    wolfcav92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok well i guess now my ques. is how do i find these individually???upgrade to 3.02OE-A and 3.02OE-B than 3.03OE-A and 3.03OE-B or should i just hold off and wait??
     

Share This Page