1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new to the ps2 backup scene and need some help

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by jedi79, Nov 28, 2004.

1. jedi79

jedi79 Member

hello all im new to the scene but have been in the modded xbox scene for a while now, but on with the question.... i have a version 1 ps2 :( now i was wondering what my options are to play backup games, i have a dvd burner comming at a very reasonable price of 8$ :) that only burns +r media after a little research i found that my ps2 will not read +r so i was wondering if i have other options??

2. epepper9

epepper9 Regular member

you could try it, but v1-4 PS2's rarely read +r's. If you try it, burn on 1x speed.
    With the PS2 having dual layer games out, you may want to invest in one of those new sony dual layer burners, which will be able to do -r, -rw, DVDRAM, +r, +rw, and +DL. I dont think there is a '-' dual layer just the '+'.
    I am basically saying that if you have to go out and buy a burner, it is well worth getting a good one that will support upcoming formats, I hope I helped you.

3. cuteperv

cuteperv Regular member

dude they do have Dual Layer DVD-r out there. And for your information, the brand new slimline PS2 version 10 or whatever latest version of the most recent ps2 console DO NOT WORK WITH SWAP MAGIC CD. So unless youre gonna go 100% legit, ur aint playing any back up at all on the new ps2 console unless u mod it.
    And by the way, always use DVD-R in whatever things u burn, chances are you will get better luck with it than with dvd+R.

4. teggy

teggy Regular member

I dnt think anyone has backed up and played a dual layerd game and played succesfully onto a blank dual layer dvd-r. And jedi, if the burner is $8 then you aren't at much of a loss. So maybe look around and try and catch a dvd-r burner.

Last edited: Nov 29, 2004
  5. epepper9

epepper9 Regular member

cuteperv,