1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to Video Capture/Edit...Need help

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by WickedSS, Nov 24, 2007.

1. WickedSS

WickedSS Member

Hi all,
    I have a Sony Handycam DCR-HC30. I am New to all this so I need some help. I captured about 4 minutes of video in avi format and it was like 1.13 gb and and didn't look that great. Am I doing something wrong? I was using ulead video studio 10.

If anyone can help or point me to the appropriate beginners guides it would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
    WickedSS

2. GrandpaBW

GrandpaBW Active member

The size is the right size. Did you use a firewire cable for capturing?

3. WickedSS

WickedSS Member

I used usb
    If that is it right size for 4 minutes how do I get the size down to a more reasonable size or am I stuck with that outrageous size on my videos.

I would like decent quality but 1 gig seems excessive for 4 minutes.

4. GrandpaBW

GrandpaBW Active member

Using the USB cable is why you got bad quality. You need to get a firewire cable for your capture.

That 1 gig is not excessive. If you want quality captures, you best be investing in a large hard drive, somwhere in the 320GB range, for starters.

Capturing as a DV-AVI file is the best you are going to get, but it isn't going to happen through a USB cable. You might want to preview the capture that you did, for dropped frames.

5. WickedSS

WickedSS Member

Thanks for the help....but how do they get 2 hours of video on 4 gig dvd? Do I need to compress it or something after I capture it?

6. TPFKAS

TPFKAS Regular member

If you'r new to this, check this page: http://www.digitalvideoclub.com/basics/tapetodvd.php. Each of the sections contains another link with more detailed info about each of the steps.