1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Wii

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by gamezboy, Oct 18, 2007.

1. gamezboy

gamezboy Guest

Sorry i'm a newbie here. I just wanna ask if I buy a Wii now, what mob chip should i buy? And is it only the LG-8164b DVD drive working for burning games or u can use anything?

2. DavGerm4

DavGerm4 Active member

Well I'm hearing that people are getting the Wii's that have the D2C chipset, but I don't really think that those have hit the market yet. If you get a Wii now, you probably won't get the D2C chipset, but you could! That is the one with the 30 wire installation! The LG-8164b is the drive that I have, and it works great for reading Wii games! I use a Pioneer 111D to burn my Wii and 360 games!

Last edited: Oct 18, 2007
  3. Kafluke

Kafluke Active member

no gamezboy, you can use any burner for burning games. You have to use a specific drive for reading the wii games not BURNING.

4. culius

culius Regular member

LG-8164b DVD Rom , so it can not write ,if you need write then you can used any DVD-RW out there (refer the NEC -3550) it is a good one .

5. gamezboy

gamezboy Guest

ok thanks a lot. Now i understand about the drive, thought it was for burning heheheh. Anywayz according to you DavGerm4, i should wait when the DC chipset comes out? I dont think i can install the Wii with 30 wire, thats too much hehe.

6. DavGerm4

DavGerm4 Active member

No I am not saying to wait for the D2C chipset! That is the one that does the 30 wire install! You want to get a D2B or D2A chipset! Those are the ones that use the Quick Solder Method, or a 5 wire install!

So you know: The D2C Chipset requires the 30 wire installation!

7. culius

culius Regular member

hey Gamezboy go to Ebay if you want the all ver. chipset D2B or D2A but you have to pay a bit extra , last week i saw some people sale on Ebay OK ! if you not want to solder 30 wire.