1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEWBIE ALERT!! Transferring VHS to Sony PC & the devil (a.k.a. Macrovision)

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by bruef, Sep 10, 2004.

1. bruef

bruef Member

I'm brand new to this stuff and I know the general subject of getting around Macrovision when copying VHS to DVD has been addressed ad nauseum, but I'm hoping I can get a little expert advice specific to my equipment & situation.
    I recently bought a Sony RA710G desktop. I'm using the included software (Click To DVD) for transferring tapes to DVD. When I tried to capture my tape of Ed Wood, I got an error message along the lines of "This tape is copy protected - cannot capture". Everything I've read online about people having trouble with Macrovision describes the cruddy things it does to the picture. I haven't seen any mention of cases where the capture device just folded it's arms and said "screw you", like mine essentially is doing. I've seen that the most commonly suggested solution is a Stabilizer. But this suggestion is usually accompanied by descriptions of how the stabilizer will smooth out the picture noise or eliminate the color/brightness drop-outs that Macrovision causes. So my question is, since my system is obviously detecting the Macrovision and stopping the operation as a result, will a stabilizer still correct the problem?
    Also, one side question: will a stabilizer really do anything to improve the picture on a non-encoded tape? I want to know whether the thing will be of any use with home-recorded tapes, even I plunk down the ching and find out it's not doing squat for the copy-protection b.s.

2. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member

Hi bruef, Your set top Sony must be like a dvd drive in a PC. If you try to do a straight copy of a store bought DVD, the PC stops the process with a similar message as you are getting. As to the second part.