1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie Building a Computer Your Imput is needed

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by thelotus, Mar 5, 2005.

1. thelotus

thelotus Member

Hello I am new to building computers and well i'm stuck when it comes to the motherboard and cpu and ram I don't know what is the best combinaion and i'm to lazy to look for it so i thought that you guys could help. I would like the system to overclock pretty well and i here that the AMD Athlon 64 3200 939 does a pretty good job but what RAM and motherboard should i get. By the way my computer consist of
    Logitech z-5300 speakers,
    Western Digital 80 GB WD800JB,
    a Sony DVD-Rom DDU1613/B2,
    a Sony DVD+/-RW Sony DW-D22A-B2
    and thats it I also don't know what video and sound card would be good so any help will be apriciated. Right now i'm running about 244 dollars into this thing and i don't plan on dropping more that 600 dollars if possible

2. pulsar

pulsar Active member

Asus have a good rep for 64bit m/boards. I would get 1gig 400RAM. Buy a decent make, Kingston, Corsair, there are lots to choose from. Sound cards are cheap enough, depends if you want 5.1 surround or stereo. When you say video card, what EXACTLY do you mean? Sorry to sound thick, but I think that my brain just fell out!

3. pulsar

pulsar Active member

Do you mean graphics card, or video capture card?

4. thelotus

thelotus Member

Yeah sorry chief i ment a graphics card, umm i have 5.1 with the logitech setup but i think i can handel that part its the video card that also give me trouble
    i don't know what would be a good one for like 100-120

5. pulsar

pulsar Active member