1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie can't network xbox and pc, HELP!

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by MstChf05, Oct 20, 2003.

  1. MstChf05

    MstChf05 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry for new thread, I tried looking over past threads and nothing helped me..

    I can not get my XBox and my PC to link so I can do the backup thing. I've got my PC Nic IP = 192.168.1.7 and Mask = 255.255.255.0 I'm using a crossover cable that I know is good from xbox to pc. The slayer settings confuse me, under System Settings on the slayer menu, there is blue info at the top saying my IP is 0.0.0.0, but below it in white there is IP = 192.168.1.200 Sub Mask = 255.255.255.0 and Gateway = 192.168.1.1. I can change the white info but not the blue, but if I change the white and reboot or leave the menu it changes back. I have FlashFXP and tried connecting to the IP in white and to the Gateway in white. HELP PLEASE!
     
  2. ELVER_GUN

    ELVER_GUN Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if the first ip of the evox setting is 0.0.0.0

    you probably are using an evox installer setted up as dynamic ip or the crossover cable is broken?

    for a crossover connection you need to see the evox settings and see if the default ip is setted like this

    make sure is like this after "NETWORK"
    set up network: yes
    type:static
    """"'""

    use static :Yes
    IP: 192.168.0.X


    check also the options where it says allow ftp
    setted to yes
    user xbox pass xbox

    if you cant see the defaults like this on your evox and wanna make a crossover connection
    u need to re-edit the evox.ini and reburned

    RustyDog has a slayer installer you can download
    setted for a crossover,hub connection


     
  3. MstChf05

    MstChf05 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok thnx, where can I find RustyDog's version?
     
  4. GetModded

    GetModded Guest

    Check your PM's.

    Since you loading the dash from a disc then you can't save changes in the Settings Menu.
    RustyDog
     
  5. fixbox

    fixbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    aaargh i've tried everything to connect my xbox to pc... no luck yet. Now i've read in a tutorial that you need an evox bootdisc to connect with the xbox is this true? Also is it possible to connect an xbox with adsl usb modem and 1 ethernet card 10/100 an an crossover link cable?? hope to hear an answer soon
     
  6. GetModded

    GetModded Guest

    You need either the EvolutionX dash installed on the harddrive or loaded from a disc to connect.
    Depending on how you set up the connection, Crossover cable or Router you'll need to set the EvolutionX dash settings to use a Static IP or not. If loading the dash from a boot disc you'll need to edit the evox.ini file for this before making the disc.
    RustyDog
     
  7. fixbox

    fixbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok thnx but it not have solved my probs.
    this is what i got so far...
    pc:
    1 ethernet card 10/100
    1 crossover cable
    1 adsl usb modem for internet

    ethernet card ip :
    192.168.0.103
    subnet masker:
    255.255.255.0
    gataway:
    nothing

    on my xbox:
    network type = static
    ip = 192.168.0.103
    line status 100/full duplex
    setup network = yes
    use static ip = yes
    subnet mask = 255.255.255.0
    default getaway = 192.168.0.1.

    are these the correct settings? Because with these settings i can't connect with flashfxp isn't it possible to get the same tutorial as the other fellow?
    greets rons
     
  8. GetModded

    GetModded Guest

  9. fixbox

    fixbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    tried it man but it didn't work, the only thing i didn't know how to do is how to disable my speedtouch adsl modem. you said disable all connections except your ethernet...
    i'm sorry im a real newbie :S i hope i'm not to much trouble to you?
    greetz rons
     
  10. GetModded

    GetModded Guest

    You should be able to just right click on the icon and choose disable.
    RustyDog
     
  11. prelude99

    prelude99 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you also might want to set a default gateway on your computer. use 192.168.0.1
     
  12. fixbox

    fixbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    iv'e tried it with gatwaay and without gateway but no succes.... i'm beginning to think it's impossible to link those two together...

    if some knows something els.... please respond....
     
  13. benp1981

    benp1981 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    fixbox...The only way i can connect a Xbox to a PC is by making the ethernet card IP the same as the default gateway of the Xbox. In other words, change the IP number of your PC's ethernet card to 192.168.0.1 & see what happens.
     
  14. fixbox

    fixbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thnx man ill tr it in the morning ill let u know what happend....
    hope it works..
     
  15. fixbox

    fixbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thnx man ill tr it in the morning ill let u know what happend....
    hope it works..
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2003
  16. fixbox

    fixbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    tried it but no effect...
    what if i try true internet explorer??
     
  17. benp1981

    benp1981 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Did you restart your PC after changing IP number? Sometimes i have to turn the xbox off & back on again before FlashFXP will let me connect, try that. I've had 2 different Xbox's with different IP's & Gateways connected to my PC, & i always have to make the IP of my PC's ethernet card the same as the Xbox's gateway. A lot of people say the IGR needs to be turned off & Firewalls disabled, But i use windows XP & they have no effect on my connection, same with Windows 98. Just keep trying with your ethernet card, you'll work it out eventually.
     
  18. fixbox

    fixbox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thnx benp1981,
    ill try to turn my xbox on and off. I really want to network my xbox but it seems it's just not be......
     

Share This Page