1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie going for an openbox

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by albert_S, Aug 7, 2012.

1. albert_S

albert_S Member

Im a total noob to all this, I did have a eurox way back when,
    reading through all these posts it looks like an 'openbox s11' is the way for me to go,
    any thoughts?
    all I really ever watch is bike racing on eurosport, and am fed up with the streams continually going down on the PC,
    the wife will prob want some other stuff though, and kids channels if I can get them.
    I have cable already, and a sat dish lying in the back yard I can easily hang, if I can be bothered getting the ladders off my van, (Im a spark and have the meters to line it up to whatever satellite I need to, just tell me what one! lol ).
    is there a better box for the money? or is it just down to personal opinions?
    I know I need a cline too, so that will be my next investigation, but obviously I need to decide on box first, [cable vs sat].
    thanking you all for your help so far.

2. pudzyryan

pudzyryan Regular member

lol, buy your self cheap box.. dreambox is cheapest by far, and easiest to use.. but if you your going this way c/s forget cable , sat is way to go.. as for c:line pm me i give you good guy and you will be amazed how easy and wondering why you didnt do it earlier....

3. MICKAH

MICKAH Active member

If you just want cable go for the Kryptview, there is a new HD version out, not sure how good or bad it is, its early days, there is a standard Kryptview also, a Dreambox isnt the easiest to use, if you are OK with Linux and good with a PC, then yes, you want simple plug n play, go for either the Blade or the Openbox, Blade is the superior based on reports and simple to use, the are upgraded with a USB, for both firmware and also other things such as chan files or clines