1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie here - need help with TV/Computer

Discussion in 'Digital TV - United States & Canada' started by chrob61, Sep 5, 2014.

1. chrob61

chrob61 Member

Hi everyone, I am hoping that coming in to this forum will help me.

Here's my situation:

For starters, my home desktop PC (Dell inspiron from around 2003/2004) is using Windows XP, and I intend on getting a new desktop PC soon.

I have a Samsung Smart TV in my living room. I recently had my cable company install a wifi modem to my office PC (the outdated XP desktop). I have the Samsung wireless keyboard that I use on my Smart TV in my living room.

I ran a speed test on my internet connectivity on the Smart TV. It reads about 12 MB download speed. My cable speed is at 15 MB. I called my cable company to see if maybe I can get an upgrade to the 30 MB speed, so I am trying that. When the technician came out, he upgraded my speed. In my office, where the router is, the speed has indeed increased to about 30 MB. The problem I am experiencing however, is that my "Smart" TV in the living room is still pulling about a 12 MB reading. To me, this defeats the purpose of having this type of TV, since when I go to places like youtube, the dreading buffering is constantly pausing my videos.

So making a long story short, if I want to watch any videos, I need to be sitting in my uncomfortable office set up.

The bottom line is I want to have the faster speed, on my living room TV, where it's more comfortable.

What are the recommendations of the group? Remember, I will need to get a new computer anyway since my Windows XP is on borrowed time (I am using Chrome as my browser as a stop-gap measure).

Thanks everyone for reading my story, and any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated!!

2. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member