1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie looking for help on capturing.....

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by hog45177, Dec 31, 2004.

1. hog45177

hog45177 Member

I am a newbie at video but I've been into computers for a long time... I recently figured out the capture on our home video camera... A sony handycam DCRTRV250. I'm currently capturing via usb. However, as a newbie, somethings don't go so well. First the software Sony gave me was a piece of junk so I used the Nero software that came with my DVD burner. I just got it for Xmas. Anyhow, with that and windows Movie Maker, I can capture in crappy quality like 320x something... or I can capture in like 640 x 480. However, if I capture 640x480, I get terrible frame lagging. And where the picture quality may be good, it's unsuitable for editing or watching purposes. My computer is an Athalon XP 1.8 Ghz with 768 Mb of ram. I don't think it's an issue with the qualities of my computer but I may be wrong. I also have a voodoo 3000 graphics card. It's an old one but it has 16 mb of video ram and it was hot stuff in it's day. It may be a graphics card problem. I also wonder if I went with firewire if it would work better. We use firewire at school to capture on the powermac's and it seems to work well. I'm considering getting one of the AIW cards from ATI. Would that help? or would Firewire help? Maybe both? Any suggestions or help is greatly appreciated.

2. fuksony

fuksony Member

Hello

Dude, hahahahahah
    You got =OWN3D= by sony too?

Yeah the software is a peice of sh*t and the quality via USB bl*ws big time.

Anyway, i bet you feel really stupid, fo having bought that camera, anyhow, you can use firewire for better quality, or save the movie in .avi format

Let me know
    LOL
    THEESE SONY GUYZ GET ON MY NERVES

3. Floydian

Floydian Guest