1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie needs HELP - Analog vhs to DVD Capture Failure

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by jim1953, Jan 26, 2005.

1. jim1953

jim1953 Guest

Hi everyone,
    Firstly I must say that I'm a Total Newbie to DVD.
    I got the bug just before Christmas.. I can copy/burn DVD to DVD with no problems.. my next project was/is to pull all my films etc from analog vhs to dvd. So I purchased VideOh Kit from Adaptec - read all the info (and purchased S-Video Lead that is not included in the kit). I followed the instructions to the letter and booted up the capture program - Nothing - just a blank splash screen with a small logo bouncing around.. then a promt telling me no link.
    OK the fool that I am I went out and purchased "AverMedia" AverDVD EZMaker USB2.0. this time I hooked up my Sony Digital Video Camera to the gadget..(forgot to say that the VideOh could not detect my camera either)this also could not pick up my camera - nor could it pick up my vcr.
    I know it has to be something I'm doing/not doing...but it beats me.. Anyone please show me my error... thanks in advance

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

UM...If you have a Digital DV Camcorder then you do NOT need a Capture device...All you need is a Firewire Port on your PC and you can transfer the Video to your PC Losslessly useing the Firewire Output on the Camcorder...If your Camcorder doesn"t have a Firewire Output then it is Not a "Digital" camcorder....

If your DV Camcorder has an analogue Input then you can then use the Camcorder to transfer VHS to your PC....

Also if you are Trying to Transfer retail VHS Tapes you will Run into problems because they are Usually copy protected.....

3. jim1953

jim1953 Guest

Minion thks for your reply...